Coconut Pecan Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
YUM! But really, how can you go wrong with coconut and pecans! As another reviewer stated, don't be put off by the odd macaroni and cheese-like odor while you're cooking this up. You'll smell the difference immediately when you add the coconut and pecans. Important to note - when cooking with eggs, unless you want scrambled egg bits in your frosting, I would highly recommend heating the butter and condensed milk in the saucepan first, then slowly incorporating a small amount of the hot butter/milk mixture(about 1/2 cup) into your egg yolks in a small bowl, whisking while you add. Once you do that, add your egg mixture into the saucepan. You should be able to avoid cooked egg bits with this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
By far THE best German chocolate cake topping I have ever tried. This is a keeper. SIDE NOTE: I stuck the frosting in the freezer for about 10 minutes after cooking, and it spread perfectly!NEWLY ADDED: 01/01/2009 I have never made this recipe with the egg yolks. It works great drizzled over a bundt cake...just let it cool for a few minutes. If it is too runny, add more coconut! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Be patient and you will be richly rewarded! I cooked the first three ingredients until bubbly just like the recipe said, but it looked too yellow, so I decided to cook it further to "caramelize" it a bit and give it a tan color. The mixture bubbled, seized and separated, scaring me a bit. It looked curdled and smelled strongly of macaroni and cheese. Finally after boiling it for about 10 minutes after the cutoff time, I took it off the stove. It was light tan and completely separated. I whisked the mixture until the goo came together in a cohesive tan sweet goo. The smell was gone, it tasted great and with the coconut, pecans and vanilla, it tasted and looked far better than the storebought stuff. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Really good - I followed someone else's advice and tempered by egg yolks, so I didn't have any problems with lumpiness. But after cooking it for ten minutes and adding the pecans and coconut it was way too thick, almost like taffy. Tasted good but wouldn't spread. So I just put it back on low heat and added heavy cream until it was smooth enough to spread, turned out great. I like a recipe that you can go back and fix after messing it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I thought that this recipe was O.K., but I agree with Laura B. that version that uses evaporated milk and sugar tastes better. The evaporated milk version (which I found on a box of Baker's chocolate) has more flavor dimensions to it. This version is kinda flat, by comparison. But it will do if you don't have evaporated milk on hand. Also, you don't have to temper the yolks if you thoroughly whisk them into the milk before you start cooking the mixture. FYI, the evaporated milk version calls for 1 (12 oz.) can evap. milk, 1.5 cups sugar, 1.5 sticks butter, 4 egg yolks, 1.5 teaspoons vanilla, 7 oz. coconut, and 1.5 cups chopped pecans. Prepare according to the directions noted in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csamfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
AWESOME!! A LITTLE BUTTERYIER THAN I'D LIKE, BUT STILL EXCELLENT! I TOASTED MY PECANS AND COCONUT FOR EVEN YUMMIER FLAVOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
Yumm! This recipe was very, very good! I almost did not try because of previous review, but obviously this person did not know what they were talking about. Nothing, is better than the homemade taste of baked goods and this rates right up at the top in my recipe book! Thanks for the great recipe Marsha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Delicious, quick & easy! I used fat-free sweetened condensed milk and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I thought this recipe was indeed very easy and tasty. I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I prefer the recipe using evaporated milk like my mother taught me and used this one when I didn't have any evap. milk on hand. I found that in this recipe, the frosting came out really thick and was difficult to spread. It also didn't have that creamy flavor of the other recipe, but more of a candy flavor that is common with sweetened condensed milk. Overall, I was relatively happy with the results, but will use other method from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I wanted an icing for German Chocolate cake and this was perfect. Seriously, do not leave the pan while the icing is heating... it will scorch easily. Low, slow and stirring constantly for 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States