Coconut Pecan Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a very good frosting to go with the Moist German Chocolate Cake. Very easy, too! I added a small amount of brown sugar simply to give it a more brownish color, but another reviewer mentioned cooking it longer to get it darker. I might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I will never buy this in the can again. So delicious!! I totally forgot to add vanilla, but it was still perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This recipe is so easy and yummy. My son loves German chocolate cake so I needed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Delicious, quick & easy! I used fat-free sweetened condensed milk and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Wow... was this great! It looks more difficult than it actually is, so your family will think you really worked hard on your cake. The recipe makes ample enough icing to fill and frost the cake (even minus all the tasting I did!) I will recommend this one to everyone I know. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I thought this recipe was indeed very easy and tasty. I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I prefer the recipe using evaporated milk like my mother taught me and used this one when I didn't have any evap. milk on hand. I found that in this recipe, the frosting came out really thick and was difficult to spread. It also didn't have that creamy flavor of the other recipe, but more of a candy flavor that is common with sweetened condensed milk. Overall, I was relatively happy with the results, but will use other method from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I'll never again use a canned frosting again! This was amazingly simple and delicious. I didn't notice the condensed milk taste that others have, but then again, I did boil it just a bit longer than the recipe states to get a deeper color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Really good - I followed someone else's advice and tempered by egg yolks, so I didn't have any problems with lumpiness. But after cooking it for ten minutes and adding the pecans and coconut it was way too thick, almost like taffy. Tasted good but wouldn't spread. So I just put it back on low heat and added heavy cream until it was smooth enough to spread, turned out great. I like a recipe that you can go back and fix after messing it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
YUM! But really, how can you go wrong with coconut and pecans! As another reviewer stated, don't be put off by the odd macaroni and cheese-like odor while you're cooking this up. You'll smell the difference immediately when you add the coconut and pecans. Important to note - when cooking with eggs, unless you want scrambled egg bits in your frosting, I would highly recommend heating the butter and condensed milk in the saucepan first, then slowly incorporating a small amount of the hot butter/milk mixture(about 1/2 cup) into your egg yolks in a small bowl, whisking while you add. Once you do that, add your egg mixture into the saucepan. You should be able to avoid cooked egg bits with this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
awesome recipe, added some coconut to the sponge mixture and halved the recipe(which I found was more than enough) a1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States