Coconut Pecan Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe. Everyone loves it. I double the recipe for my 3 or 4 layer cakes. The icing is the best part of a German Chocolate Cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I just got done making this and it was YUMMY! I did follow the advice of the other reader and tempered the yolks and it was great! I doubled the recipe since I like lots of frosting and I am so glad! My husband and I started eating it by the spoonfuls. Who needs the cake? (o: Thank you for sharing! Such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Perfect - nothing else to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I like it with the sweetened condensed milk! It's less sweet, and more creamy caramel tasting than the kind made with evaporated milk. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
OMG this was fabulous!! I hope there is some left to actually ice the cake since I've been eating this by the spoonful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin Giamella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Love, love, love this recipe..I am just experimenting with making my own frostings and this was easy and very delicious! I toasted the coconut before adding just to enhance that coconut flavor. Definately gonna make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
AWESOME!!!!! this frostin recipe is a keeper, i made it and got alot of compliments thanks for sharin the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnyflower1177
Home Town: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I used this frosting recipe to complete the German Chocolate Cake II that I found on allrecipes.com. Made this for my dad's birthday. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I am a die hard coconut hater from way back and I can barely tolerate pecans but this frosting is excellent. I used it on Dark Chocolate Cake II from Allrecipes. I usually tweak a recipe a little but this I made exactly as directed and it turn out great. This recipe has earned a permenant spot in my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is an easy recipe. If it is too sweet you can substitute 1 12 oz. can of evaporated milk for the condensed milk, and thicken with a little corn syrup..1/4 cup. This helps with the sweetness of the chocolate frosting, and makes a nice balance. Also if you add 1/2 brown sugar at the beginning before it cooks you get more of a caramel flavor. GOOD LUCK ALL! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States