Coconut Pecan Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Temper the yolks before making, and it's foolproof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was the best receipe I have ever made. I did not add my eggs separately. What I did was take a stick of frozen butter and added the condensed milk and the eggs when 1/2 of the butter was melted. It did not take long at all. It is really good and not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I wanted an icing for German Chocolate cake and this was perfect. Seriously, do not leave the pan while the icing is heating... it will scorch easily. Low, slow and stirring constantly for 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Worth the work to make. This is an excellent recipe and our whole family faves about the icing whenever I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave's wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is good as written, but tastes more candyish to me. If you prefer deeper flavors, use 1 cup evaporated milk and 1 cup sugar in place of the sweetened condensed milk. Cook for about 12 min after it starts to bubble. The difference in flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
this is fabulous! i will admit that i was suspect at first, when just cooking the milk, eggs and butter-it smelled horrible. after adding in the coconut and pecans and vanilla though...mmmmm. won't ever use another recipe for this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My son & I kicked this out in nothing flat.. It's amazing & so easy to cook.. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This is a fine recipe. I haven't seen many variations of it, but I really missed the sugar; I added almost a cup after it was all cooked which worked out well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Excellent. This makes a German Chocolate Cake made from a boxed mix taste homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I almost gave this four stars because it was so obnoxious to make. I had to do it twice because you literally have to stir it CONSTANTLY for 10 minutes or the sugar carmelizes on the bottom and makes the icing gross with hard chunks. It's exhausting. But the end product was so freaking amazing, it gets 5 stars. I could not stop eating it. It was the perfect amount to ice three 9" layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States