Coconut Pecan Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Too dry. Followed directions perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PDK27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
There is no sugar in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
It was fantastic! It's not the sweetest recipe, but it doesn't need any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very easy recipe. I had to double the recipe to cover my cake, but overall this recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Came out great. BUT, if you are heavy-handed in your frosting application or you plan on frosting the sides too, consider making a double batch. I barely had enough to frost only the tops of my two 8" rounds, leaving the sides exposed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I didn't have condensed milk, so I used Vanilla coffee creamer. Also, I used brown sugar in stead of white sugar. Toasted the pecans and the coconut. O....M....Gooooodness. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Ok, here's the deal, I made this recipe exactly as written. I did use another reviewer's suggestion about melting the butter at low temp. and then adding the condensed milk and egg yolks. When it's all in the pan mix the heck out it with a whisk before you put it back on the burner and you won't have to temper the eggs. No offense Cooking Divas, I just hate tempering eggs. You must whisk AND cook it for the whole 10 minutes. (I understand that finding an entire 10 minutes without a child crises, the phone ringing or someone coming to the door is next to impossible, but this step is crucial.) The mixture really thickens the last 2 1/2 minutes. Follow these steps and you'll be rewarded with a sinfully delicious frosting that will leave your family begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This frosting is amazing!!!! I also toasted the coconut and used 1/2 cup of diced toasted almonds instead of pecans... TOTALLY DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Just made this and its AWESOME !!!! I was really woried about using the sweet milk because of all the reviews but its not too sweet & set up just right. I didnt have any evaporated milk and had already baked the cake so I had to try this one and Im glad that I did. I like this verson better than the other and its REALLY easy. YUM thanks for the recipie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I loved this recipe it was so simple. taking a hint from the reviews i opted to try something and substituted half of the butter for whipped coconut cream. it made no difference int he texture but the taste was unbelievable. I will be trying it again but i will exchange the whole half cup of butter for the coconut cream. My new go to german chcolate cake topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States