Coconut Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Awesome! I also added a little curry powder and cayenne pepper for a little extra zing. My picky husband and I both LOVED it...and he hates everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Quick, easy, and delicious! I added curry powder and garlic as suggested by others. Everyone enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Pretty good - but like others stated, it is lacking something...just not sure what!! I didn't have panko crumbs, so I used cornflake crumbs..I also used a whole chicken breast - rather then cutting into strips. I would make again, since it is just for me as my husband would not like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is officially my favourite way to eat chicken YUM! I had a bunch of pecans and a bunch of coconut and needed a way to use them. I had this brainstorm that they'd taste good with chicken and found this recipe using the ingredient search. I took the suggestions of other reviewers - added a tsp. of curry paste to the yogurt and some garlic powder to the breading. Unfortunately I didn't have panko but I know it would just be that much yummier with panko! (I used regular bread crumbs instead).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delburne, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SCARLETT74
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This dish was very easy to make and fairly tasty. However, I agree that it needs a little extra "something" to give it more punch. After reading the reviews, I added a pinch of garlic and 1/4 tsp. curry powder to the dry mix before coating the chicken. I also added salt and pepper. The final product had a nice, crunchy texture and wasn't too sweet at all. We liked it quite a bit, but it did seem to need some extra seasoning. I like the idea of this recipe enough that I'll probably continue to experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This recipe sounded amazing to me considering I love all the ingredients in it. But I will admit that the final product lacked a little something. I even added a pinch of nutmeg and cayenne pepper and dipped the strips in honey, but it just needed something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Much too sweet even though I added the cayenne! If I were to make it again I would not dredge - probably just brush with yogurt...Thanks for the experience and I can see how others might enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was a favorite with everyone in my house. After reading the reviews that the chicken needed a bit more of a kick, I added 1/4 tsp. curry (since it goes so well with coconut), a dash of red pepper and a little garlic to my chopper while everything was grinding. I also kept my chicken breasts whole and double dipped them in the coating so they'd be nice and crunchy and cooked them on a rack on a baking sheet so I wouldn't have to flip them. Even the people that don't like coconut liked this one--I gound everything so finely they could only taste the sweetness of the nuts without the texture that they don't like. After my alterations it is 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
very good, i think next time I will keep the chicken breasts whole though and make the coating thicker. also, I think baking on parchment paper will prevent the bottoms from getting so dark. seems like a little zing would be great, I may add some ginger or pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
A great light meal. Perfect with rice pilaf and steamed sugar snap peas. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast and cooked at 450 for 15 min then flipped and lowered to 350 for 35-40 mins. I also, sprinkled some garlic powder. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States