Coconut Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was exceptional! I did a 'search' for 'chicken' and 'yogurt' and came up w/ this recipe. I substituted stuffing mix, unsweetened shredded fresh coconut and walnuts (what I had on hand) and I was delighted with the results! Nice and crispy, with a delicate coconut flavor enhanced by the herbs in the stuffing mix. The walnuts toasted up nicely and added another layer of flavor. This one's a keeper -- don't be afraid to play with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
WOW! Full of flavor and sweet and spicy. This recipe will be rotated into out monthly meal planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmartin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Instead of yogurt, I marinated the chicken in coconut milk (13.5 oz. can Goya). Also substituted plain bread crumbs for panko and added 1/4 tsp. curry powder. This came out so moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was okay. I think it would taste better using mahi or shrimp instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Amazing recipe! Easy, quick, and healthy! Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sovanny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was pretty good. It was a little hard to get the breading mixture to stay on the chicken, and the coconut did not really bake evenly for me (some parts had no color, while others were near black). That being said, it was very nice and crispy and had a great sweet flavor. I had no Japanese breadcrumbs, and had to use Matzo Meal instead, which was very good. We dipped ours in the sauce from the Orange Sauce Chicken on this website--I thought it was yummy, but hubbie liked it better plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I think this recipe is great but i have used a shortcut for some time now. Try using the coconut pecan icing by betty crocker. Batter the chicken in flour and then bake it. pull the chicken out 10 minutes before being done and spread the icing on the chicken and turn your oven on low broil for ten minutes. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I ommitted the pecans but otherwise followed this exactly. Came out great! served with orange marmalade as a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was very good and easy to make! I did change some things though. We didn't have panko bread crumbs so I finely crushed rice crispie cereal. I also used someone else's suggestion and dipped them in homemade mayo instead of yogurt. We served them with pumpkin butter and that was just what they needed to round out the flavor. They would also be good served with marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDWHISPER84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This is good, it just isn't as good as another similar recipe I make. My 2-year-old didn't care for this at all and chicken strips are usually a sure way to get him to eat dinner. So I probably won't make it again. The coconut and pecans were what made me want to try this and they were good -- I think the yogurt was the biggest problem with this recipe. It does make this healthier than the recipe I usually make (which uses a combination of mayo and vegetable oil to stick the topping), but it is a little too sweet in combination with coconut and pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States