Coconut Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was a favorite with everyone in my house. After reading the reviews that the chicken needed a bit more of a kick, I added 1/4 tsp. curry (since it goes so well with coconut), a dash of red pepper and a little garlic to my chopper while everything was grinding. I also kept my chicken breasts whole and double dipped them in the coating so they'd be nice and crunchy and cooked them on a rack on a baking sheet so I wouldn't have to flip them. Even the people that don't like coconut liked this one--I gound everything so finely they could only taste the sweetness of the nuts without the texture that they don't like. After my alterations it is 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was exceptional! I did a 'search' for 'chicken' and 'yogurt' and came up w/ this recipe. I substituted stuffing mix, unsweetened shredded fresh coconut and walnuts (what I had on hand) and I was delighted with the results! Nice and crispy, with a delicate coconut flavor enhanced by the herbs in the stuffing mix. The walnuts toasted up nicely and added another layer of flavor. This one's a keeper -- don't be afraid to play with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SCARLETT74
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This dish was very easy to make and fairly tasty. However, I agree that it needs a little extra "something" to give it more punch. After reading the reviews, I added a pinch of garlic and 1/4 tsp. curry powder to the dry mix before coating the chicken. I also added salt and pepper. The final product had a nice, crunchy texture and wasn't too sweet at all. We liked it quite a bit, but it did seem to need some extra seasoning. I like the idea of this recipe enough that I'll probably continue to experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This had zero flavor and didn't crisp up. I was expecting it to have a sweet "crust", like on coconut shrimp, and this wasn't even close. The yogurt gave it an almost sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe was great because it's healthful and is relatively quick to prepare. The texture and aroma are nice, but it does lack a bit in flavor; lightly sprinkle soy sauce on the cooked chicken and you'll be all set. Side note: I used the recipe for "Quick Sesame Green Beans" as a side dish, and it complimented the chicken nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Evans, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
A great light meal. Perfect with rice pilaf and steamed sugar snap peas. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast and cooked at 450 for 15 min then flipped and lowered to 350 for 35-40 mins. I also, sprinkled some garlic powder. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is officially my favourite way to eat chicken YUM! I had a bunch of pecans and a bunch of coconut and needed a way to use them. I had this brainstorm that they'd taste good with chicken and found this recipe using the ingredient search. I took the suggestions of other reviewers - added a tsp. of curry paste to the yogurt and some garlic powder to the breading. Unfortunately I didn't have panko but I know it would just be that much yummier with panko! (I used regular bread crumbs instead).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delburne, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is so easy and very yummy. I flattened a chicken breast, but did not cut it into strips. I used vanilla yougurt, not plain. I used italian bread crumbs, not panko. I baked it in the oven for about 25 minutes and it came out juicy. I love the coconut and pecan combination. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was pretty good however I agree with previous posts that it's a little bland. I will try sprinkling them with a small amount of cayanne next time. I served this with banana yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very tasty! Very Crispy! The whole family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States