Coconut Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I finely chopped the pecans and the shredded coconut. I also ran herb stuffing mix through the processor to get a texture of crunchy breadcrumbs. I combined all the above with the panko crumbs. This mixture had a great flavor balance between sweet, nutty, and herb/salt. Also the ground texture stayed on the chicken. I marinated the chicken in a mixture of plain, non-fat yogurt mixed with mustard, curry powder and chili powder. As another reviewer suggested, I baked the chicken on a rack over a cookie sheet (spray rack with PAM). The chicken came out crunchy and delicious. I served with an assortment of sauces - pineapple mango ginger, rasberry BBQ, and honey mustard. Took to a dinner party - everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Delicious. I made some changes. First of all, marinated the chicken strips in a mixture of "ketjap medja" (a dutch sweet soy sauce) and ginger. Also used peach yogurt instead of plain. gave it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very tasty, even though I forgot the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
When I rate recipes, I rate the recipe and comments together. I never follow a recipe exact anyway. I found these to be fantastic. My husband loved them and thought they were better than any homemade "breaded" chicken he's ever had. I made these using chicken tenders. I didn't have yogurt, so I used a beaten egg with a little soy sauce to add salty flavor. I ground the pecans and coconut with a little curry and garlic powder before tossing the mixture with the panko. Then I baked them as directed. Great. I didn't have the fixings, but these would also be delicious on a salad with asian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Great recipe! A keeper for sure. I didn't have yogurt, so I used milk and an egg, and it worked well. I didn't have curry either, so I used 1/4 tsp. chili pepper. It could have used more. Next time I hope to try curry. I served it with the options of a honey dijon dip, soy/ginger dip, and a cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Loved it - no heavy sauce but still have the coconut flavor. Both husband and 5-year old son loved it as well. Fast and easy - my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I read this while trying to find something different for dinner. I love coconut, and had to make this tonight! No bread crumbs or bread. As a last resort I used rice krispies. Not as much as the amount of crumbs, but they worked just fine. My husband even liked it. This is a keeper for sure. I will try with bread crumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishyee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Great fast easy. Mom thought it would have been better if it had some crushed red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemissunshine00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I wasn't too crazy about this, I thought there would be a lot more crunch and I'm not sure I'm too big on all that coconut flavor with the chicken. Who knows, maybe it's more of a kid recipe and less of a college student recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Not super flavorful. Although I normally love coconut anything, but I prob won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States