Coconut Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was a favorite with everyone in my house. After reading the reviews that the chicken needed a bit more of a kick, I added 1/4 tsp. curry (since it goes so well with coconut), a dash of red pepper and a little garlic to my chopper while everything was grinding. I also kept my chicken breasts whole and double dipped them in the coating so they'd be nice and crunchy and cooked them on a rack on a baking sheet so I wouldn't have to flip them. Even the people that don't like coconut liked this one--I gound everything so finely they could only taste the sweetness of the nuts without the texture that they don't like. After my alterations it is 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was exceptional! I did a 'search' for 'chicken' and 'yogurt' and came up w/ this recipe. I substituted stuffing mix, unsweetened shredded fresh coconut and walnuts (what I had on hand) and I was delighted with the results! Nice and crispy, with a delicate coconut flavor enhanced by the herbs in the stuffing mix. The walnuts toasted up nicely and added another layer of flavor. This one's a keeper -- don't be afraid to play with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SCARLETT74
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This dish was very easy to make and fairly tasty. However, I agree that it needs a little extra "something" to give it more punch. After reading the reviews, I added a pinch of garlic and 1/4 tsp. curry powder to the dry mix before coating the chicken. I also added salt and pepper. The final product had a nice, crunchy texture and wasn't too sweet at all. We liked it quite a bit, but it did seem to need some extra seasoning. I like the idea of this recipe enough that I'll probably continue to experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This had zero flavor and didn't crisp up. I was expecting it to have a sweet "crust", like on coconut shrimp, and this wasn't even close. The yogurt gave it an almost sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe was great because it's healthful and is relatively quick to prepare. The texture and aroma are nice, but it does lack a bit in flavor; lightly sprinkle soy sauce on the cooked chicken and you'll be all set. Side note: I used the recipe for "Quick Sesame Green Beans" as a side dish, and it complimented the chicken nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Evans, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
A great light meal. Perfect with rice pilaf and steamed sugar snap peas. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast and cooked at 450 for 15 min then flipped and lowered to 350 for 35-40 mins. I also, sprinkled some garlic powder. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is officially my favourite way to eat chicken YUM! I had a bunch of pecans and a bunch of coconut and needed a way to use them. I had this brainstorm that they'd taste good with chicken and found this recipe using the ingredient search. I took the suggestions of other reviewers - added a tsp. of curry paste to the yogurt and some garlic powder to the breading. Unfortunately I didn't have panko but I know it would just be that much yummier with panko! (I used regular bread crumbs instead).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delburne, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is so easy and very yummy. I flattened a chicken breast, but did not cut it into strips. I used vanilla yougurt, not plain. I used italian bread crumbs, not panko. I baked it in the oven for about 25 minutes and it came out juicy. I love the coconut and pecan combination. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was pretty good however I agree with previous posts that it's a little bland. I will try sprinkling them with a small amount of cayanne next time. I served this with banana yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very tasty! Very Crispy! The whole family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States