Coconut Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I finely chopped the pecans and the shredded coconut. I also ran herb stuffing mix through the processor to get a texture of crunchy breadcrumbs. I combined all the above with the panko crumbs. This mixture had a great flavor balance between sweet, nutty, and herb/salt. Also the ground texture stayed on the chicken. I marinated the chicken in a mixture of plain, non-fat yogurt mixed with mustard, curry powder and chili powder. As another reviewer suggested, I baked the chicken on a rack over a cookie sheet (spray rack with PAM). The chicken came out crunchy and delicious. I served with an assortment of sauces - pineapple mango ginger, rasberry BBQ, and honey mustard. Took to a dinner party - everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Delicious. I made some changes. First of all, marinated the chicken strips in a mixture of "ketjap medja" (a dutch sweet soy sauce) and ginger. Also used peach yogurt instead of plain. gave it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very tasty, even though I forgot the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
When I rate recipes, I rate the recipe and comments together. I never follow a recipe exact anyway. I found these to be fantastic. My husband loved them and thought they were better than any homemade "breaded" chicken he's ever had. I made these using chicken tenders. I didn't have yogurt, so I used a beaten egg with a little soy sauce to add salty flavor. I ground the pecans and coconut with a little curry and garlic powder before tossing the mixture with the panko. Then I baked them as directed. Great. I didn't have the fixings, but these would also be delicious on a salad with asian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Great recipe! A keeper for sure. I didn't have yogurt, so I used milk and an egg, and it worked well. I didn't have curry either, so I used 1/4 tsp. chili pepper. It could have used more. Next time I hope to try curry. I served it with the options of a honey dijon dip, soy/ginger dip, and a cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Loved it - no heavy sauce but still have the coconut flavor. Both husband and 5-year old son loved it as well. Fast and easy - my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I read this while trying to find something different for dinner. I love coconut, and had to make this tonight! No bread crumbs or bread. As a last resort I used rice krispies. Not as much as the amount of crumbs, but they worked just fine. My husband even liked it. This is a keeper for sure. I will try with bread crumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishyee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Great fast easy. Mom thought it would have been better if it had some crushed red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemissunshine00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I wasn't too crazy about this, I thought there would be a lot more crunch and I'm not sure I'm too big on all that coconut flavor with the chicken. Who knows, maybe it's more of a kid recipe and less of a college student recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Not super flavorful. Although I normally love coconut anything, but I prob won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States