Coconut Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I live in Hawaii and have been trying for a year to find the right recipe for this stuff. Found it!!! You can buy coconut syrup in the yellow bottles here for a small fortune (plus they have preservatives). Once you have coconut syrup in a local Hawaiian pancake house it is addicting. I've experimented on my own and tried some other recipes. This one is right on. I think you can cut the corn starch a little bit. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla at the end. Try chopping up some fresh pineapple bits and adding them to the top (gooey) side of pancakes while they're cooking. When you flip them the pineapple bits grill a little bit-yum! Then top it with this syrup and you have Hawaiian heaven. Much mahalo for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Wow!!! This is the first time I have ever reviewed a recipe, but had to because this was outstanding! I followed the recipe exactly and it was just right. We've been to the islands twice, and this syrup was like bit of the islands in our own home. My husband and three boys love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This stuff was delicious!!! Whatever you do don't get any on your forehead....your tongue will beat your brains out trying to get to it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Delicious! Makes a TON though, I'd recommend halving or even quartering the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Oh my gosh, this is delicious as syrup, ice cream topping or just by the spoonful. I had to use 1/2 light syrup and 1/2 dark syrup (all I had), but it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I made this with banana pancakes and it was absolutely delicious. Will make again and again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Nazianz, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This syrup was delicious and super easy to make! It tasted just like the syrup in Hawaii. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this exactly as recipe called. We absolutely loved it, even my kids who don't like coconut loved it. We will make this often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Ok, so I kind of screwed this up and it didn't thicken as much as I'd like, I tried using flour instead of cornstarch, my bad...but seriously, this is soooo delicious, even if a tad thin (my fault). I somehow had actual coconuts on hand, so if you are into some labor intensive coconut draining/ filtering/ scraping/ shredding/ dehydrating, I highly recommend it. We ate it on pancakes and on top of vanilla ice cream. I think using the fresh ingrediants really made the flavor. Will definatly make this again, with cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
So delicious! We've eaten it with pancakes, waffles, and Swedish pancakes and it was great on all of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Whipped Coconut Cream (Vegan Whipped Cream)

Dairy-free whipped cream made with coconut milk.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States