Coconut Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I live in Hawaii and have been trying for a year to find the right recipe for this stuff. Found it!!! You can buy coconut syrup in the yellow bottles here for a small fortune (plus they have preservatives). Once you have coconut syrup in a local Hawaiian pancake house it is addicting. I've experimented on my own and tried some other recipes. This one is right on. I think you can cut the corn starch a little bit. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla at the end. Try chopping up some fresh pineapple bits and adding them to the top (gooey) side of pancakes while they're cooking. When you flip them the pineapple bits grill a little bit-yum! Then top it with this syrup and you have Hawaiian heaven. Much mahalo for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This stuff was delicious!!! Whatever you do don't get any on your forehead....your tongue will beat your brains out trying to get to it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My Son,Tad and his wife Laura brought some Coconut Syrup back from their recent Hawaiian honeymoon and he fixed me banana pancakes and Coconut syrup. I came home and used this recipe and it tastes just like his.I did as others suggested and used a bit less cornstarch..AMAZING!! Can't wait to Surprise Tad & Laura with a jar of it!!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is a good, fresh tasting syrup, but delicate. I only used 1 Tbsp cornstarch, and that thickened it fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I live in Hawaii and use coconut syrup on my pancakes all the time. This recipe is very good. I used half of the corn starch and the consistency was just right. For those who want to taste the coconut more, add some coconut extract like I did and the coconut flavor will burst through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I've never had or made coconut syrup before so I didn't know what to expect, I made it just as the recipe is written and it was fantastic. We used about 1 ladle full and then I stored it in an empty syrup bottle which it filled. Next time I would try it with a bit less surgar, just seemed a bit overly sweet to me, but hey no one complained! It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Delicious! Makes a TON though, I'd recommend halving or even quartering the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Tasty syrup! Similar to what I've had in Hawaii, but I think I will reduce the cornstarch next time. I made half a batch and it filled a pint jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Ok, so I kind of screwed this up and it didn't thicken as much as I'd like, I tried using flour instead of cornstarch, my bad...but seriously, this is soooo delicious, even if a tad thin (my fault). I somehow had actual coconuts on hand, so if you are into some labor intensive coconut draining/ filtering/ scraping/ shredding/ dehydrating, I highly recommend it. We ate it on pancakes and on top of vanilla ice cream. I think using the fresh ingrediants really made the flavor. Will definatly make this again, with cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I kept the 2 TBSP of corn starch and added 1/2 cup of COCA REAL cream of coconut, I also skipped the shredded coconut and added 1 TSP coconut extract! It was awesome! Next I halved the recipe- bottling one ahalf and then I added 1 cup of V8 Splash Smoothies Tropical Coloda and an additional TBSP of corn starch to the other half. This was also a great topping for ice cream. It added additional coconut flavoring and a tang of pineapple! YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States