Coconut Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Tasty syrup! Similar to what I've had in Hawaii, but I think I will reduce the cornstarch next time. I made half a batch and it filled a pint jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I live in Hawaii and have been trying for a year to find the right recipe for this stuff. Found it!!! You can buy coconut syrup in the yellow bottles here for a small fortune (plus they have preservatives). Once you have coconut syrup in a local Hawaiian pancake house it is addicting. I've experimented on my own and tried some other recipes. This one is right on. I think you can cut the corn starch a little bit. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla at the end. Try chopping up some fresh pineapple bits and adding them to the top (gooey) side of pancakes while they're cooking. When you flip them the pineapple bits grill a little bit-yum! Then top it with this syrup and you have Hawaiian heaven. Much mahalo for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Wow!!! This is the first time I have ever reviewed a recipe, but had to because this was outstanding! I followed the recipe exactly and it was just right. We've been to the islands twice, and this syrup was like bit of the islands in our own home. My husband and three boys love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This stuff was delicious!!! Whatever you do don't get any on your forehead....your tongue will beat your brains out trying to get to it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Oh my gosh, this is delicious as syrup, ice cream topping or just by the spoonful. I had to use 1/2 light syrup and 1/2 dark syrup (all I had), but it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Pretty tasty! This was the first time I tried cocnut syrup. I had it for the first time so I did not know what to expect. I used frozen shredded coconut instead of sweetened ones and the syrup was still plenty sweet. I also addded a very small pinch of salt. Somehow I felt it needed it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This syrup was delicious and super easy to make! It tasted just like the syrup in Hawaii. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I made this with banana pancakes and it was absolutely delicious. Will make again and again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Nazianz, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this exactly as recipe called. We absolutely loved it, even my kids who don't like coconut loved it. We will make this often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Delicious! Makes a TON though, I'd recommend halving or even quartering the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States