Coconut Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I've never had or made coconut syrup before so I didn't know what to expect, I made it just as the recipe is written and it was fantastic. We used about 1 ladle full and then I stored it in an empty syrup bottle which it filled. Next time I would try it with a bit less surgar, just seemed a bit overly sweet to me, but hey no one complained! It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I kept the 2 TBSP of corn starch and added 1/2 cup of COCA REAL cream of coconut, I also skipped the shredded coconut and added 1 TSP coconut extract! It was awesome! Next I halved the recipe- bottling one ahalf and then I added 1 cup of V8 Splash Smoothies Tropical Coloda and an additional TBSP of corn starch to the other half. This was also a great topping for ice cream. It added additional coconut flavoring and a tang of pineapple! YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Since German Pancakes or Dutch Babies taste incredible with coconut syrup, I was thrilled to find this recipe. I did tweak it a bit by using a touch of agave (I use organic corn syrup and one bottle was not enough) I also tried coconut sugar this time and WOW! So good!!! I left the coconut out, because I wanted a smooth syrup. This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
LOVE THIS! We are getting ready for a trip to Hawaii and I wanted to put us in the mood. We've had coconut syrup on the islands before, and this is REALLY close...the only change I made was due to the fact that the store was out of coconut milk. I used something called "COCO Real" cream of coconut. I thought it made the syrup SUPER coconutty! Great recipe, and thanks! Gonna try a sugar free version next...I'll let you know how it works out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I live in Hawaii and use coconut syrup on my pancakes all the time. This recipe is very good. I used half of the corn starch and the consistency was just right. For those who want to taste the coconut more, add some coconut extract like I did and the coconut flavor will burst through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Yum! Like everyone else, I had banana pancakes and coconut syrup while on vacation in Hawaii and loved it! This recipe is delicious! Exactly what I was looking for. It's great as is, but I think next time I will try adding some coconut extract for extra coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is wonderful! My mother-in-law always brings back coconut syrup from her trips to Hawaii but those are few and far between. This tastes as good or better :) I made it exactly as posted and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtnmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
So sweet, So yummy! Was very easy to make and my b/f and his son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This was easy to make, and it's a decent syrup, but I won't be making it again once we're out. I don't care for the coconut shreds (I guess I just prefer a smoother consistency for syrup). My other complaint is that it has a surprisingly mellow coconut flavor. I was looking for BAM! COCONUT! and what I got was more like, "Huh, what's the white stuff- is that coconut?" The flavor is very subtle. It's a fine syrup, it just didn't knock my socks off like I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I am soo happy to find this recipe! This is the first recipe that I have ever reviewed...Great job...LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Whipped Coconut Cream (Vegan Whipped Cream)

Dairy-free whipped cream made with coconut milk.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States