Coconut Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I have been searching for a recipe to match the coconut syrup at my favorite restaurant in Kauai where they make tropical pancakes and this is it. Adding some vanilla gives it a more robust flavor. I serve this over pancakes that have shredded coconut and macadamia nuts added to the batter. Then put sliced bananas over the pancakes, pour syrup on top, and top with whipped cream. I double the recipe because they are all gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was delicious on pancakes with strawberries and blueberries. Any leftovers can be mixed with plain rice to create a tasty sticky rice! I didn't have coconut milk--just the coconut canned mix for drinks, but I looked up a conversion online and all you have to do is add water! So you need half of the canned coconut mix that you would need for the coconut milk in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great recipe Kimberly. Just got back from Hawaii and it's just as I remember it. Yummy. Macadamia pancakes with coconut syrup. Delicious. Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
We only have carry-ons when we go to Hawaii so could not bring any syrup home! I was soooo glad to find your recipe, and I love it. Only change I made was to use my hand held smoothie maker to blend in the shredded coconut. I love the taste but not the texture of the shredded coconut! Now it is perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Yum! I made only 1/2 the recipe since most of my family won't even try this. It turned out a little thin. I'm still hoping it will thicken up. I was too anxious to try it to wait for it to cool so just ate it warm. Delicious! Wish my sister lived close; she would love it! Does it need to be refrigerated? I don't see that in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Its still not as good as the syrup in Hawaii. My husband and I were very disappointed. I'll try it again though using fresh coconut because we think the sugared coconut is what ruins this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenachka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I did not like this. I couldn't taste the coconut one bit, even the flaked coconut. Maybe it needs some coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I've never had or made coconut syrup before so I didn't know what to expect, I made it just as the recipe is written and it was fantastic. We used about 1 ladle full and then I stored it in an empty syrup bottle which it filled. Next time I would try it with a bit less surgar, just seemed a bit overly sweet to me, but hey no one complained! It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I kept the 2 TBSP of corn starch and added 1/2 cup of COCA REAL cream of coconut, I also skipped the shredded coconut and added 1 TSP coconut extract! It was awesome! Next I halved the recipe- bottling one ahalf and then I added 1 cup of V8 Splash Smoothies Tropical Coloda and an additional TBSP of corn starch to the other half. This was also a great topping for ice cream. It added additional coconut flavoring and a tang of pineapple! YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Since German Pancakes or Dutch Babies taste incredible with coconut syrup, I was thrilled to find this recipe. I did tweak it a bit by using a touch of agave (I use organic corn syrup and one bottle was not enough) I also tried coconut sugar this time and WOW! So good!!! I left the coconut out, because I wanted a smooth syrup. This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States