Coconut Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I used a little more than a T of cornstarch and halved the corn syrup and sugar then added a tea. of coconut extract like some people suggested. The whole family loved it. Very coconuty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is very good - as long as you understand that the coconut flavor is quite subtle. Personally, I enjoyed it - but I *do* wish I had some coconut extract (as others have mentioned) to give it that last little ummph of flavor. It's quick and easy ... I think I'm going to make a poke cake try drizzling this on the cake. I only had sweetened coconut, so I simply scaled back on the sugar. Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Just like the syrup we had at Slappy Cakes in Maui! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I waited anxiously for the weekend to make pancakes, along with the syrup for my family. The recipe is scrumpcious. I didn't have any corn syrup on hand so I made some my self, 2 cups of sugar, 3/4 cups water, 1/4 tea cream of tartar and pinch of salt. bring to a boil, (soft ball stage)let cool. Adjustments I made to the recipe: I used 1 tab of the corn starch as other reviewer suggested but to be honest next time I'll use the 2 tab, because I like my syrup a little thicker and not so runny. I will also decrease the sugar,to about 1/4 cup. The sweetened coconut gives it that extra sweetness. I also added 1 tea of coconut extract. IT DEFENITLY MADE A DIFFRENCE. But all in all I loved the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Thanks for sharing. It's hard to find coconut syrup on the mainland and this will fit the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
OMG that is DELICIOUS!!! We had it with pancakes that had fresh pineapple and added a side of fried Canadian Bacon (or Ham). Soooooo Good! Thanks for the new breakfast item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I just made it & love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I eliminated the corn syrup & sugar and used coconut sugar instead and a little more corn starch to make thicker.Just a little more healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Or you can just add coconut milk/cream to your favorite syrup! Works just fine just comes out a little darker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
We had some bottled coconut syrup in Hawaii at a bed and breakfast that we thought our children would love. Unfortunately we could never find a bottle of it to buy and bring home. So when I got home I tried this recipe and it tasted fresher and even better than what we had in Hawaii! I did makes some changes, though. I left out the flaked coconut because my husband doesn't like it, and I only added about a cup of corn syrup because I didn't want it to be too sweet. As other reviewers recommended, I added some coconut extract. Next time I will add about half the suggested amount of cornstarch. Since I didn't add as much corn syrup my coconut syrup was a little thick...but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States