Coconut Orange Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Probably the best tasting cupcakes that i have made so far. Followed the directions to a T and it came out moist and delicious. 4 out of 5 people who tried them said they would prefer it without the orange wedges. I think i might have to agree..OR i may chop up the oranges so there wouldnt be hunks of oranges in each cupcake next time. When i made these i gently folded the oranges into the batter so they kept its shape which is the only thing we didnt care for. Nonetheless, still REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These were a big hit! I loved them!!!! I used orange juice instead of oranges, and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
EXCELLENT! Great recipe....perfect as is. Thanks for making me look good Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORRIE123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Yummy! Very Moist. The only thing I did differently was to replace the all-purpose flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda with Self-raising flour (it's the same thing anyway just already prepared) and I chopped up the mandarin segments so they weren't too big. Delish! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
My nephew/godson started kindergarten this year. His birthday was 9/18 and as his godmother I wanted to be a part of his special day at school. Since his favorite fruit is mandarin oranges, I did a google search and found this recipe. What a hit! I did modify the topping- I used buttercream icing and colored the coconut in red and blue (the Buffalo Bills are his favorite team and that was his special request) and sprinkled on the buttercream. The kindergarten class at Port Allegany Elementary School (in PA) gave them two thumbs up!!! I am going to try substituting the oranges with raspberries and see how that tastes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These are fantastic! They are light and very tasty. It worked best to cut up the orange segments. This is not a heavy cupcake and it is not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I left out the chocolate chips, and instead of putting the coconut on before baking, I mixed it with a Tbsp of butter and some confectioners sugar to make a glaze and "frosted" them right when they came out of the oven. Totally delicious!! Even a few days later they were very moist and yummy - more like a sweet muffin that a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Stvnsn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by countygirl28
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I think these are soooo yummy! The only thing I did differently was instead of "folding" the mandarin oranges in, I mixed them in on low speed and that broke them up just enough. I do not recommend leaving the oranges out, don't see how they could even remotely taste the same. I will definately keep this one for a regular cupcake in my house! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Even my friend who doesn't like cake LOVED these cupcakes!!! To add a little more flare I drizzled white chocolate over the top of them- very delicious and very beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Our bakery stopped making these so we had to learn to make them ourselves! They are awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States