Coconut Orange Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Yummy! Very Moist. The only thing I did differently was to replace the all-purpose flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda with Self-raising flour (it's the same thing anyway just already prepared) and I chopped up the mandarin segments so they weren't too big. Delish! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Probably the best tasting cupcakes that i have made so far. Followed the directions to a T and it came out moist and delicious. 4 out of 5 people who tried them said they would prefer it without the orange wedges. I think i might have to agree..OR i may chop up the oranges so there wouldnt be hunks of oranges in each cupcake next time. When i made these i gently folded the oranges into the batter so they kept its shape which is the only thing we didnt care for. Nonetheless, still REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This cupcake is FANTASTIC! I used fresh squeezed o.j. and white chocolate chips that I rolled in flour before folding them in to the batter. The topping is so easy and buttery yummy. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this recipe for an event at work. The cupcakes came out wonderfully. They were a perfect light dessert aside the rich brownies, etc. I used organic coconut (it's much more moist and I think it has a better flavor). I also did not add the coconut topping until right after I pulled them out of the oven. Will most def. make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prolly Pauli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Light and scrumptious. Made them without mandarin orange and chocolate chips (didn't have them on hand) and I'm very glad I did it this way. The cupcakes are delicate in taste (used a little orange zest and fresh oj) and the topping compliments the cake beautifully. I am truely and totally sold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I left out the chocolate chips, and instead of putting the coconut on before baking, I mixed it with a Tbsp of butter and some confectioners sugar to make a glaze and "frosted" them right when they came out of the oven. Totally delicious!! Even a few days later they were very moist and yummy - more like a sweet muffin that a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Stvnsn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I loved it! Just thought I'd also like to say that chopped mandarin oranges were the way to go! (Each wedge into 3 pieces) Super moist cupcake with a slightly crunchy coconut topping, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is incredibly good. I lowered the oil to 1/3 cup and added 1/3 cup of the juice from the mandarin oranges. Then I used a whisk to combine the ingredients, including the oranges. That broke them up a bit but not totally and I think that helps bring out the orange flavor. It is unbelievably moist and the flavor combo is outstanding. Super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Easy and yummy!I will definitely make these again. I loved how they are sweet, but not too sweet and the topping is wonderful. The only change I made was I didn't fold in the mandarin oranges I just drained and poured them in and mixed them with my mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These were a big hit! I loved them!!!! I used orange juice instead of oranges, and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States