Coconut Orange Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Yummy! Very Moist. The only thing I did differently was to replace the all-purpose flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda with Self-raising flour (it's the same thing anyway just already prepared) and I chopped up the mandarin segments so they weren't too big. Delish! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Probably the best tasting cupcakes that i have made so far. Followed the directions to a T and it came out moist and delicious. 4 out of 5 people who tried them said they would prefer it without the orange wedges. I think i might have to agree..OR i may chop up the oranges so there wouldnt be hunks of oranges in each cupcake next time. When i made these i gently folded the oranges into the batter so they kept its shape which is the only thing we didnt care for. Nonetheless, still REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This cupcake is FANTASTIC! I used fresh squeezed o.j. and white chocolate chips that I rolled in flour before folding them in to the batter. The topping is so easy and buttery yummy. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this recipe for an event at work. The cupcakes came out wonderfully. They were a perfect light dessert aside the rich brownies, etc. I used organic coconut (it's much more moist and I think it has a better flavor). I also did not add the coconut topping until right after I pulled them out of the oven. Will most def. make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prolly Pauli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Light and scrumptious. Made them without mandarin orange and chocolate chips (didn't have them on hand) and I'm very glad I did it this way. The cupcakes are delicate in taste (used a little orange zest and fresh oj) and the topping compliments the cake beautifully. I am truely and totally sold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I left out the chocolate chips, and instead of putting the coconut on before baking, I mixed it with a Tbsp of butter and some confectioners sugar to make a glaze and "frosted" them right when they came out of the oven. Totally delicious!! Even a few days later they were very moist and yummy - more like a sweet muffin that a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Stvnsn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I loved it! Just thought I'd also like to say that chopped mandarin oranges were the way to go! (Each wedge into 3 pieces) Super moist cupcake with a slightly crunchy coconut topping, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is incredibly good. I lowered the oil to 1/3 cup and added 1/3 cup of the juice from the mandarin oranges. Then I used a whisk to combine the ingredients, including the oranges. That broke them up a bit but not totally and I think that helps bring out the orange flavor. It is unbelievably moist and the flavor combo is outstanding. Super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Easy and yummy!I will definitely make these again. I loved how they are sweet, but not too sweet and the topping is wonderful. The only change I made was I didn't fold in the mandarin oranges I just drained and poured them in and mixed them with my mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These were a big hit! I loved them!!!! I used orange juice instead of oranges, and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States