Coconut Orange Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Pris
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made half with the coconut topping and half without. I tried the one without and loved it. So moist! My roommate tried the one with and kept Mmm-ing the whole time. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pris

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is incredibly good. I lowered the oil to 1/3 cup and added 1/3 cup of the juice from the mandarin oranges. Then I used a whisk to combine the ingredients, including the oranges. That broke them up a bit but not totally and I think that helps bring out the orange flavor. It is unbelievably moist and the flavor combo is outstanding. Super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I thought these were very good. I didn't have any coconut, so I just made a glaze with powdered sugar, organge juice and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris p.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I gave this recipe five stars. I followed the directions exactly as written. I did fill the tins almost full rather than 3/4 full. The recipe has a distinct orange flavor and was very moist. The topping also added a lot of flavor. I think these are great with a cup of coffee and will make them again and again. Everyone I served them to loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I would give it 4 stars for overall appearance and incredible moistness but a 2 for overall flavor. I followed the recipe exactly though I cut the mandarin orange segments as suggested. There was no orange flavor to speak of and as suggested in its name. That was very disappointing. If I made it again I would add orange concentrate or orange oil but then it wouldn't be this recipe I am reviewing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
We didn't like these at all. The only flavor came from the coconut topping. I was very disappointed in the result. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
The coconut topping was delicious, but the cupcake itself didn't have much flavor. I will try the coconut-sugar mixture on top of other batters, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Easy and yummy!I will definitely make these again. I loved how they are sweet, but not too sweet and the topping is wonderful. The only change I made was I didn't fold in the mandarin oranges I just drained and poured them in and mixed them with my mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this recipe for an event at work. The cupcakes came out wonderfully. They were a perfect light dessert aside the rich brownies, etc. I used organic coconut (it's much more moist and I think it has a better flavor). I also did not add the coconut topping until right after I pulled them out of the oven. Will most def. make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prolly Pauli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I loved it! Just thought I'd also like to say that chopped mandarin oranges were the way to go! (Each wedge into 3 pieces) Super moist cupcake with a slightly crunchy coconut topping, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States