Coconut Orange Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Good recipe, but I tried to cut back on the sweetness, and it was still rich. I cut the sugar to 2/3 cup, cut the vanilla chips to 1/2 cup, chopped the oranges according to other reviews, and skipped the butter in the topping. They still tasted great. Next time I will probably skip the chips entirely and may try to cut back on the sugar some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These were the best cupcakes! I added some orange zest to the batter and topping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made these to take to a family friend. I made them without a mixer and found them extremely dry. My coconut topping did not turn out well at all. Just made big greasy spots. I frosted them with coconut cream cheese frosting to make them true cupcakes instead of muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Followed recipe just as it reads. Delicious. Coconut topping is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Valentine Spratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
If you're going to change anything, give the oranges a quick chop. That's it. These are perfect and so delicious. We couldn't stay out of them. Not even DH who hates coconut. Gave 5 to the neighbor, the other 19 were gone by the next evening. I'll burn them off all week at the gym.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made these without the vanilla chips (didn't have any on hand) but I thought they were great even without the chips. A very good change of pace from usual cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
These are absolutely delicious cupcakes. The only minor change I made was to leave the topping off of a couple of the cupcakes because I had some leftover white chocolate cream cheese frosting that I thought would be wonderful on these - and it was. Will definitely be making these again - they were a huge hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Just baked them at my bakery and it's definitely keeper. Excellent. I just cut oranges as the other reviewers suggested and next time I think I will add some orange extract for more "orangie" flavor. Again, very good recipe. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I love these cupcakes! I forget everytime I make them though that the amount of baking soda called for puffs them up sooooo much. I also omit the oranges but add 1 t orange zest. I should remember to make the size of the cupcake on the smaller side so that the ratio of topping (which is sooo good and possibly the best part of the cupcake) to cake is just right. I will make these over and over again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeow
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great cupcakes, they are very soft and the coconut on top makes it even more delicious. Everyone loves these cupcakes. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States