Coconut Orange Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Holy cow, these are good. I followed the reviews and changed almost nothing because they're perfect. I made just a bit more frosting and adding some orange zest to both the cupcakes and the frosting. I made mini cupcakes (cooked for 11 minutes) and yum! I'm going to make these weekly until I'm not able. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I took these to work and got rave reviews. I made as written, next time I will chop the oranges into thirds. I plan to make this as a 9x13 cake to take places. I love everything about this recipe, thank you so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These were very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
You just have to try this recipe, I did change it a little and they came out like heaven in a cupcake. Plan on making this my signature cupcake recipe now! I did make a few modifications following recommendations on other reviews. I read that the large orange segments were too much so decided to chop up my oranges. Of course this made them watery so I knew I had to reduce the liquid in the recipe. So in pace of the 1 cup of orange juice I used 1/2 cup of the juice drained from the can of mandarin oranges. To enhance the orange flavor I used 2 teaspoons of Lorann Orange Bakery Emulsion (Although orange extract would work just as well). I mixed the chopped oranges in with the liquids at the beginning. Thank you so much for sharing, not only do these taste delicious but they look so professional too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This recipe is delicious! I chopped up the oranges instead of having big chunks, that just didn't sound appetizing to me. Also, I used olive oil in lieu of vegetable oil and I added in some coconut flakes into the batter. They turned out amazing on their own, never-mind when you pair this with a simple butter cream frosting, yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I enjoyed these but my family did not. It was too wet and grew mold before I could bring them to work for my employees. I enjoyed them immediately otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Co-workers loved 'em. Mine came out with a great orange flavor since I used OJ concentrate (watering it down with some orange juice when I noticed the batter was too "sticky"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I blended the mandarin oranges instead of leaving them whole and baked these for 17 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very good. This is definitely a muffin and NOT a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I made this for my youngest son's 11th birthday, as he wanted an orange cake. I baked it in 2 9" round pans and frosted it with a home made buttercream frosting. I put the toasted coconut inbetween the two layers, and also on the top and sides of the cake. The cake was so delicious! He loved it, and was very pleased. The whole cake was gone before noon the next day. It did have more of a 'muffin' texture....not as fine as a cake texture...but we still loved it. It would definitely be awesome as a sort of 'coffee cake', minus the butter cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States