Coconut Orange Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These were very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
You just have to try this recipe, I did change it a little and they came out like heaven in a cupcake. Plan on making this my signature cupcake recipe now! I did make a few modifications following recommendations on other reviews. I read that the large orange segments were too much so decided to chop up my oranges. Of course this made them watery so I knew I had to reduce the liquid in the recipe. So in pace of the 1 cup of orange juice I used 1/2 cup of the juice drained from the can of mandarin oranges. To enhance the orange flavor I used 2 teaspoons of Lorann Orange Bakery Emulsion (Although orange extract would work just as well). I mixed the chopped oranges in with the liquids at the beginning. Thank you so much for sharing, not only do these taste delicious but they look so professional too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This recipe is delicious! I chopped up the oranges instead of having big chunks, that just didn't sound appetizing to me. Also, I used olive oil in lieu of vegetable oil and I added in some coconut flakes into the batter. They turned out amazing on their own, never-mind when you pair this with a simple butter cream frosting, yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I enjoyed these but my family did not. It was too wet and grew mold before I could bring them to work for my employees. I enjoyed them immediately otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Co-workers loved 'em. Mine came out with a great orange flavor since I used OJ concentrate (watering it down with some orange juice when I noticed the batter was too "sticky"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I blended the mandarin oranges instead of leaving them whole and baked these for 17 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very good. This is definitely a muffin and NOT a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I made this for my youngest son's 11th birthday, as he wanted an orange cake. I baked it in 2 9" round pans and frosted it with a home made buttercream frosting. I put the toasted coconut inbetween the two layers, and also on the top and sides of the cake. The cake was so delicious! He loved it, and was very pleased. The whole cake was gone before noon the next day. It did have more of a 'muffin' texture....not as fine as a cake texture...but we still loved it. It would definitely be awesome as a sort of 'coffee cake', minus the butter cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I thought this was great! The only comment I have is that the topping was a little too sweet and the next time I may use 1/4 cup of sugar on that. One other reviewer mentioned to give the oranges a quick chop before folding in and I did that as well. This cupcake has a really nice flavor and is nice and moist. It is a good choice for a special occasion. It did yield 2 dozen for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I love the light orange flavor of these cupcakes. I did make a few small changes. I pureed the mandarin oranges in a food processor before mixing them into the batter. I also frosted them with the cream cheese frosting II recipe from this site, since my friend doesn't like coconut. They tasted like creamsicles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States