Coconut Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I'm only giving this four stars, because I made substantial changes. I wanted it to be a bit more healthy. I omitted the white sugar, as per other reviewers, and I cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup. I also replaced 1/3 of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour and used dark chocolate chips. They turned out great. The second time I made them, I decided to use just 1/2 cup of Splenda brown sugar mix and replace all of the flour with whole wheat. They also turned out very tasty like this, however since most of the calories come from fat, using Splenda only saved me about 14 calories. For this reason, I probably won't do it again. The third time I made them, I used 1/2 cup of regular brown sugar, all whole wheat flour, and I replaced the butter with mashed banana. This cut down on the calories hugely, but they just weren't as nice. The banana was a bit too strong and made the texture slightly rubbery. I may try this again but only replace half of the butter with banana. Otherwise, I'll stick to 1/2 cup brown sugar, no white sugar and all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I've been baking these for 6-7 years now and get rave reviews. It's a great recipe if you're looking for something rich and tasty, but not chocolatey. I can't count how many times people have asked me for the recipe. They don't come out too pretty, but they taste fantastic. I always use real butter, ghirardelli white choc chips, and the sweetened coconuts flakes (Baker's brand). About some of the complaints I've read--if your cookies are coming out too flat and runny looking, it's because your butter melted too much (it's tempting to melt it in the microwave because there's so much). If you do let everything soften too much, cool the dough for a bit before baking. I use a cookie scoop or tablespoon to measure these out. Also, be generous with the space you give them on the sheet. They're...territorial. About some of the complaints I've read--if your cookies are coming out too flat and runny looking, it's because your butter melted too much (it's tempting to melt it in the microwave because there's so much). If you do let everything soften too much, cool the dough for a bit before baking. I use a cookie scoop or tablespoon to measure these out. Also, be generous with the space you give them on the sheet. They're...territorial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostmyseatagain
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These were pretty good. I used two sticks I Can't Believe It's Not Butter, 1 1/2 cups oats, sweetened flaked coconut, and I left out the white sugar. I personally didn't care for the texture of the brown sugar in these, but my dad and boyfriend loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These cookies are dry, way too much oatmeal. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I was so excited about this combination of flavors ... but I'm so disappointed in the way MY cookies turned out...FLAT & GREASY as all get-out! What went wrong? Help! I saw 2 other reviews with this complaint. I halved the recipe, but still used 1 egg and then used 1 cup of rolled oats. I baked them on a stainless cookie sheet (ungreased). The butter I used was salted cream butter - was that the prob? I refrigerated the dough and made them later in the day - was that the prob? Or was it because I live in CO and baked them for 11 minutes????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I love this recipe with my changes! I cut 1/4 cup of the butter out. I cut 1/4 cup of the white sugar out. I used 1/4 cup of wheat flour for some of the white. I only put in 2 cups of oats. I used 2 eggs. And my secret ingredient? I added 2 cups of shredded summer squash! Since it resembles the coconut, nobody in my house noticed at all! My kids and husband are loving these cookies, and I'm very happy they are secretly getting veggies! I'm so glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Very yummy!!! Did as is but used coconut and almond extract. Loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These are very yummy and addictive. I made them quite snack size which was a mistake as my hub kept poppin them in his mouth! They did not last long in our home. We did not add the chocolate chips though I'm sure they would have been a tasty addition. These actually, oddly enough, reminded me of a shortbread or a spritz cookie - even though they had oats and coconut. They were not too sweet at all ... just enough sweetness to keep us snacking on them! 4 out of 5 because they were not extraordinary but rather pleasantly yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT Fish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
What I was really craving was almond and coconut... so I changed up this recipe (gasp!). I halved it, added the vanilla and then the same amount of almond extract, and tossed in 1/4 cup slivered almonds. I also left out the egg, adding instead a tbsp each of ground flax and soymilk. They hardly flattened at all, yet they are moist. Great almond essence, nice hint of coconut. Sweet and buttery and entirely too yummy for my waistline. PS: Halving the recipe STILL got me 2 dozen with my cookie scoop - be warned. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Funny the day I made them, for some reason they tasted dry and I originally gave this recipe only 3 stars, but the day after they are delicious! Though, they are a little on the heavy side, I might just decrease it to 2 cups of oats and lighten up on the sugar since I used sweetened coconut and white chocolate itself is very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States