Coconut Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This recipe has been used in my family for generations with a slightly different variation. We use either shortening or butter and add one (1) addtional cup of oatmeal. We also roll the dough into "logs" (about 2" x 6") then chill for about 1 hour. Then slice into 1/4" thick cookies. Either way, an absolute winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
These were absolutely delicious Darlene! Because some reviewers complained about their cookies coming out flat, I used heaping teaspoons of the baking soda and baking powder. I added chocolate chips to the mix and made rather large cookies that took about thirteen minutes to bake. Like others stated, even if the cookies don't appear to be done, take them out anyway and let them set up. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
These cookies ROCK! This is an awesome recipe and you can mix it up a bit if you want! I added Chocolate Chips, Butterscotch Chips for more flavor. Be careful not to overbake - it's easily done.. I have made these twice in two weeks, once family came over a devoured them ALL! These are going on my Christmas cookie list. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This cookie is so DELICIOUS!!! I did make a few changes to the original recipe based on the other reviews. I sustituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for the shortening and reduced the white and brown sugars to 2/3 cup each. Also increased the amts for baking soda and baking powder to 1 1/2 tsp each. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and approx 1/4 tsp salt and 1 tsp cream of tarter. Also my "cups" for the oats and coconut were heaping. The dough was quite wet so I chilled it for about an hour. Once chilled I rolled it into balls (heaping TBSP size) and baked for 9-10 minutes until just turning golden. Let cool for a few minutes on pan and then removed. These cookies turned out chewy and perfect! They turned out the perfect shape and I had no problems with then being too flat! These are a new family favorite and will definately make again!! Next time I might add raisins or butterscotch chips, which would be very yummy as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
WAY too sweet. I can't believe other reviewers are adding sugar by rolling the dough in it. Makes my teeth hurt just thinking about it. I followed the recipe except that I added cinnamon per others' suggestions and added semi-sweet chocolate chips to half the dough. I was a little disappointed, but this recipe still has merit in that the buttery coconut flavor went very nicely with the oatmeal. Next time I will reduce the sugar, add nuts (personal preference), and use all butter. I may even add some more oatmeal and coconut so that the cookie has more substance. In my opinion, this is a great base for you to make alterations until it suits your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
These cookies are fantastic!!! I made balls about 3/4" in diameter and got 5 dozen delicious thin, crispy cookies. I added chocolate chips to some of them and raisins to some others, and they came out great!!! My family especially liked the ones with raisins. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This recipe was so easy that I was able to make it with baby on hip. I halved the recipe and made four minor changes: * I used only butter (no shortening on hand). * I added a little extra oatmeal as previous reviewers suggested. * I mixed all the ingredients together in my Kitchenaid (I didn't separate wet and dry). * I shortened the cooking time until the cookies appeared baked on the sides and still moist in the middle. The end result was wonderful. The buttery coconut taste was warm and exotic. The coconut and oatmeal added a nice texture. The cookies were a little flatter than most recipes I have made, but undercooking them allowed them to remain moist. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taliarose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Just made these cookies 10 minutes ago and they are great! I did add all the suggestions listed-pinch of cinnamon,salt, and cream of tartar. I was out of vanilla so experimenting used a dash of vanilla flavored coffee and they turned out fine. But a strong hand is needed when mixing the ingred. at the end. Also watch the timing as suggested-very important. Thanks for your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This cookies are AWESOME - I added a tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp salt to the dry ingreidients. I also used 'cream of tartar' instead of baking powder my cookies were not flat at all. I refridgerated for about an hour, and rolled them in powdered sugar, rolled them into balls on the cookie sheets than pressed like a peanut butter cookie. They are just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Incredible recipe. I wasn't sure how the coconut would taste with oatmeal...but it was wonderful. It keeps the cookies extremely moist. I also added some pecans and the cookies came amazing. Thank you for a wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States