Coconut Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I like these cookies, they just didn't have much flavor without tweaking the recipe, and they were too sweet for my taste. I used sweetened coconut cause I couldn't find unsweetened (darn you, podunk grocery stores), and cut the white sugar to half a cup. Next time I will use unsweetened coconut AND cut the sugar. I also threw in some dark chocolate chips (which were good), but next time I will use white because I think the flavor will be more complementary. I didn't have problems with flattening, mine came out soft and pillow-y. I made the balls a heaping tsp, and baked for 8min 30sec to 9 minutes. My oven timer goes by minute increments only so the 8 min 30 sec chained me to the kitchen in perpetual count-down mode. But leaving the kitchen with cookies in the oven gives me separation anxiety anyway, so it worked out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Take a look at the 4 photos (as of 1/25/10). They are all different. When I made these cookies, they came out wide and spread out and flat. When my friend made them, no nuts or chocolate chips, they looked more like photo 1; round and high. I don't know what she used for shortening, or if she used butter too, but I used Smart Balance and butter and added nuts and chocolate chips. The first 3 test cookies came out flat, unattrative and I couldn't really taste the coconut. So I added another cup. Still, the taste was mostly chocolate chip. I didn't see the reason for making a cookie with coconut if it was only going to taste like a chocolate chip cookie. If I ever make these again, I would only add nuts and I would try Crisco instead of Smart Balance to see if I could get away from that flat, deflated look. A prime example of one recipe, several different results as you can see by those photos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Very good cookies !! I added raisins into half the batch.. I love raisins :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Brubaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Just finished baking these cookies. Changed the recipe a little by adding 3/4 cup white chocolate chips to the dry ingredients. Since the recipe didn't specify what size spoon to use I made them a rounded Tablespoon size, and got 36 cookies in the batch. Smelled wonderful, tasted even better. The recipe instructions could be a little more precise (which is why I only gave this recipe 4 stars) . But the cookies are wonderful , will definately add these to my recipe box to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marlborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Wonderful cookies! I just used margarine, no shortening... and some advice from previous reviews and they turned out great! Cooked to a very nice shape and will definitely be a regular to my cookie jar! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Yum! These are my new favorite cookie! I made these to send to my husband in Iraq and couldn't help but to snag a few. They are exceedingly chewy and have a great light coconut flavor. I made a full batch which made about 2 dozen large cookies. I substituted butter for the shortening. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Delicious cookies!! I made 3/4 the full recipe which yielded 35 full sized cookies. I read other reviews before baking these cookies and made some modifications that definitely improved on the original recipe: (a) I added about 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon; (b) I added just a dash of cream of tartar; (c) I added about a half a cup of chocolate chips; (d) I added just a dash of salt. I recommend that you keep an eye on the cooking of these cookies because I think if you allow them to cook too much that they will get too hard. I pulled them out when they looked slightly underdone and were just starting to turn golden - that was the right amount of time for them to cook because they firmed up to being chewy after cooling. So great - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
very yummy! I added mini chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
These cookies were great!!!! They are different and yummy. They would be great with Macadamia Nut or white chocolate chips I think. I will still make them without due to food allergies in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Nice cookie recipe but a little too sweet and bland for me. If I were to make it again I would reduce the sugar and maybe add some raisins and/or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States