Coconut Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Made as directed (I might have been a little generous with the coconut) and it turned out fine. First batch was a little hard, so I adjusted the timing and the rest came out softer. Nothing spectacular, but it was a nice change of pace from the standard oatmeal cookie. I'll definitely make these again at some point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
these cookies are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I love these cookies-a quick addition to a classic oatmeal cookie. I wish I had raisins on hand, but I didn't, so following a different recipe on this site, I chopped a few maraschino cherries and added them to half the dough. Yummy! I also added orange peel, which went great with the coconut. I added extra baking powder/soda because of the other reviews (and also because if there's someone that can ruin a cookie recipe, it's me!) My cookies turned out great, but still sort of flat, so next time I'll add cream of tarter per some of the other reviewers. All in all, a great recipe to tweak and make your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These were tasty cookies! Mine were very flat and spread a ton. I'm an experienced baker, so I know my method was correct. I used all butter and that does affect spread, but I hate using shortening! These turned out crunchy, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Used all butter, 1.5c whole wheat flour + 0.5c almond meal, decreased sugar to 3/4c white, 3/4c brown, increased baking powder to 2t, 1c rolled oats + 2c old fashioned, added 0.5t almond extract, and a handful of walnuts. Delicious, puffy, chewy, maybe slightly too sweet still. Next time will decrease to 1c sugar total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These are delicious! I just pulled a batch out of the oven and they taste fabulous when they're warm. My only change is that I baked them on parchment rather than greasing the sheet and they came out perfect. I agree with the reviewers who said to take them out before they look all the way cooked. Mine were barely turning brown around the edges and still looked raw in the middle, but after they cooled for a few mintues, they were just wonderful. Thanks for this recipe, I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These are amazing. Everyone loved these cookies and could not stop eating them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I have this recipe in an old receipe book but it calls for just butter. I made these excactly as the recipe calls for except used heaping spoonfulls of the baking soda and powder and they were better than my old receipe. They look like the picture soft and puffy. Just delicious, thank you for the recipe Darlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katheleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
very good cookies.. my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I think the serving size of 2 dozen is way off. My batch yielded 44 medium to large cookies and they were raw in the middle at 10 minutes. If I would have made 24, they would have been the size of a saucer and taken considerably longer to cook. I left mine on the cookie sheet after cooking about 11-12 minutes. They are very soft coming straight from the oven but continue to cook and harden. The next day they were a good consistency. They taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States