Coconut Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Delicious and chewy cookies. I did add 1/2 tsp salt as I don't like cookies without salt. I also added nuts and chocolate chips. A little cinnamon might be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
WOW. Best oatmeal cookie yet! But I made some changes, for my own notes: Used all butter and no shortening, an extra cup of oats, heaping teaspoons of baking powder and soda, no coconut, and I used wheat flour. I measured each cookie out at 1 ounce and baked for 10 minutes. Again... WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is a five star plus for me! Made these exactly as written,and what a hit! Picky hubby even loved them! No kidding,great recipe Darlene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
these are delicious! I followed the suggestions of others and added extra oatmeal and coconut, threw in a pinch of salt and added some vinegar to the baking soda (i didn't have tartar). I also reduced both sugars to 3/4 C. I threw them in the fridge for a while and then rolled into balls that i flattened slightly. I baked for 12 minutes and they were perfectly baked and not at all flat. Then i topped them with a coconut flavored glaze. They were great plain but glazed they are AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
3.7. I had serious doubts about these cookies. I followed other reviewers suggestions and used all butter and added an extra cup of oatmeal. I also toasted the oatmeal before mixing into the batter. What I had doubts with was the batter. Since I added that extra cup of oatmeal, the batter ended up being very thick. I also didn't mix the dry and wet ingredients separately on account of time. So...wow, it still turned out good. These cookies are definitely crispier than I generally make...but it would have been a lot crispier and flatter had I not frozen the dough. i also used a melon scooper to make things easier. Pretty solid recipe. i do wonder what the shortening would've added to the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Made as directed (I might have been a little generous with the coconut) and it turned out fine. First batch was a little hard, so I adjusted the timing and the rest came out softer. Nothing spectacular, but it was a nice change of pace from the standard oatmeal cookie. I'll definitely make these again at some point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
these cookies are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I love these cookies-a quick addition to a classic oatmeal cookie. I wish I had raisins on hand, but I didn't, so following a different recipe on this site, I chopped a few maraschino cherries and added them to half the dough. Yummy! I also added orange peel, which went great with the coconut. I added extra baking powder/soda because of the other reviews (and also because if there's someone that can ruin a cookie recipe, it's me!) My cookies turned out great, but still sort of flat, so next time I'll add cream of tarter per some of the other reviewers. All in all, a great recipe to tweak and make your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These were tasty cookies! Mine were very flat and spread a ton. I'm an experienced baker, so I know my method was correct. I used all butter and that does affect spread, but I hate using shortening! These turned out crunchy, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Used all butter, 1.5c whole wheat flour + 0.5c almond meal, decreased sugar to 3/4c white, 3/4c brown, increased baking powder to 2t, 1c rolled oats + 2c old fashioned, added 0.5t almond extract, and a handful of walnuts. Delicious, puffy, chewy, maybe slightly too sweet still. Next time will decrease to 1c sugar total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States