Coconut Mountains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Instead of two eggs, just use one, and add more coconut if needed. You should be able to gauge the texture by feel. I didn't add as much sugar as the recipe called for, and used unsweetened coconut. You can add either lemon or lime juice to create a bit of a different flavour profile. Or dip the tops in melted chocolate. A hot all around, every time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I ended up adding an additional 2-3 cups of coconut, baked them a little longer and they were a complete hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Having a late night sweet tooth and only a few ingredients I opted to give these "cookies" a try despite the somewhat negative reviews. I only used one egg and I spruced it up by adding some chopped almonds and semi-sweet white chocolate chips. they turned out AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Rinehart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I had several snacks to choose from and these went the fastest by far. I added extra coconut to thicken it up and left it in a few minutes longer than called for. Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
They didn't turn out at all. They where like flat little pancakes. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zldema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kremmling, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Ok......they looked like fried eggs. I'm out of coconut so there's no way I can try it again. There must be a mistake with the eggs or instead of "whisking" maybe a hand mixer should be used. The remaining batter I added 1/3c sugar, about 1/3c oatmeal and chocolate chips and the batter did the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I was really Disappointed in this COOKIE!!! It spread really bad and didnt even form a cookie!!! it tasted more like a fortune cookie then a coconut mountain!!! I Would Never Do This Cookie Again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Ann
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
My family and I found these to be the best coconut cookies. I had bought the coconut for my Christmas cookie the usuall macaroon. but I forgot the can milk needed to make them I jumped on to all recipes and as usuall it saved my day and a trip to the store. I whipped the eggs and sugar in my mixer till they were a lemon color. they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Not bad - I wonder if the author made a mistake in the recipe - the ingredients say 2 eggs, but the instructions mention "the egg". I tried it with 2 eggs first, looked really sloppy so threw that batch away and made a 2nd batch using just one egg - turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Try using an electric wisk it makes the eggs and sugar more fluffy and add additional coconut and walnuts(optional)to make the cookies a little bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States