Coconut Milk Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is the best rise pudding ever, every one should try it at least once. I didn't change anything in the recipe and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Jackpot! The result is a delightful, flavourful and very creamy pudding, well worth the time spent.I have made many quick rice puddings before, but was never able to get the same result you would get in a cozy Thai restaurant on Koh Chang island. Well, this recipe with a guidance of the great video gives you a very close resemblance in texture and taste of the product, and lots of pride in making one yourself. Many thanks to Chef John for detailed explanation of the process of cooking rice. I have never seen it done this way before, and loved learning a new way of cooking my rice. I cooked this pudding to take with us to a Vietnamese New year celebration - an Asian dessert was open to my interpretation, and I chose this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by morganrai
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is an awesome recipe and it is such a great option for entertaining. My daughter hated rice pudding until I made this now she tells everyone about it. I made this and added a few twists of my own but anyone that wants to impress please make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morganrai

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is a great dish! I was hosting an asian-inspired dinner and decided to give this a try as the dessert. . I followed the recipe to a T except for the use of mango and 5 spice powder to garnish. Instead of these, I opted for toasted coconut and it was great. My guests, who seemed a little weary of the dessert when I told them what we were having, said that they loved it once the had a bite! The recipe as is makes 4 small servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SilviaAna
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This recipe is excellent. I followed the instructions completely with the exception of replacing the mango topping with toasted coconut. My only issue, however, is that I felt there wasn't enough flavour. The coconut milk and vanilla extract gave it a lovely undertone but it was very mild. Next time I make it, I will be using coconut extract instead of vanilla extract, and doubling the amount to give it a stronger coconut flavour. Also, I think it would be a good idea to add a splash of rum or kahlua, and perhaps some raisins to make it a tad more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilviaAna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was a good idea, I enjoy risotto and rice pudding and this is like a cross between the two. I had the coconut milk but no regular milk, I only had vanilla soy milk but that worked. Didn't need to add much additional sugar because the vanilla soy is sweetened already. Next time I'll use real milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianmaj
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was a delight especially with the secret Chines 5 Spice and mango topping! It does require alot of time by the stove stirring so i suggest proper preparation i.e a glass of fabulous French fruit of the vine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianmaj
Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was time consuming but so worth it. The mango was a perfect addition. I love coconut so might, as another review said, double to amount of coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made this the lazy way, just added the rice to the boiling milks then let cook approx. 20 min, then followed the recipe there on out. Very good! This is a tasty and rich dessert. I had half of a can of coconut milk left and this was the perfect way to use it up. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Best rice pudding I've ever had. I served it with a generous spoonful of balsamic strawberries and my husband gobbled it up. I plan to make it again and again and even though it is stovetop recipe, I found it easy to putter around the kitchen while it was cooking. Also, I served it in those Asian style square dishes and it was as beautiful as it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States