Coconut Milk Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by morganrai
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is an awesome recipe and it is such a great option for entertaining. My daughter hated rice pudding until I made this now she tells everyone about it. I made this and added a few twists of my own but anyone that wants to impress please make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morganrai

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is a great dish! I was hosting an asian-inspired dinner and decided to give this a try as the dessert. . I followed the recipe to a T except for the use of mango and 5 spice powder to garnish. Instead of these, I opted for toasted coconut and it was great. My guests, who seemed a little weary of the dessert when I told them what we were having, said that they loved it once the had a bite! The recipe as is makes 4 small servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SilviaAna
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This recipe is excellent. I followed the instructions completely with the exception of replacing the mango topping with toasted coconut. My only issue, however, is that I felt there wasn't enough flavour. The coconut milk and vanilla extract gave it a lovely undertone but it was very mild. Next time I make it, I will be using coconut extract instead of vanilla extract, and doubling the amount to give it a stronger coconut flavour. Also, I think it would be a good idea to add a splash of rum or kahlua, and perhaps some raisins to make it a tad more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilviaAna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is simply fabulous! I made a double batch, and didn't have enough coconut milk so I subbed in whipping cream and doubled the vanilla. At first when I added the sugar I thought it was way too sweet, but the next day it had toned down a bit and is perfect! I have never made rice pudding on the stove top before, have always made the baked kind, but never again, this is just delicious, creamy and so yummy! I will never go back to making it in the oven again, if I could rate this higher I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I made it exactly as stated and it was delicious! I had never made rice pudding on the stove before, but it made monitoring how thick it got much easier. I was worried about the coconut flavor being too strong, but it was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
good flavor but lots of work for no good reason. I make a very similar Indian rice pudding that just calls for boiling the rice in the coconut milk and milk. I've made it with arborio rice instead of jasmine and had no problems. rice did not clump and no butter was needed. I don't think the butter does anything for this and all the effort doesn't make it taste any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Jackpot! The result is a delightful, flavourful and very creamy pudding, well worth the time spent.I have made many quick rice puddings before, but was never able to get the same result you would get in a cozy Thai restaurant on Koh Chang island. Well, this recipe with a guidance of the great video gives you a very close resemblance in texture and taste of the product, and lots of pride in making one yourself. Many thanks to Chef John for detailed explanation of the process of cooking rice. I have never seen it done this way before, and loved learning a new way of cooking my rice. I cooked this pudding to take with us to a Vietnamese New year celebration - an Asian dessert was open to my interpretation, and I chose this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was a good idea, I enjoy risotto and rice pudding and this is like a cross between the two. I had the coconut milk but no regular milk, I only had vanilla soy milk but that worked. Didn't need to add much additional sugar because the vanilla soy is sweetened already. Next time I'll use real milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianmaj
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was a delight especially with the secret Chines 5 Spice and mango topping! It does require alot of time by the stove stirring so i suggest proper preparation i.e a glass of fabulous French fruit of the vine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianmaj
Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was time consuming but so worth it. The mango was a perfect addition. I love coconut so might, as another review said, double to amount of coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States