Coconut Milk Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I would like to add to my other remarks, if allowed. Some reviewers remarked on the length of time etc. I don't understand. It is as though one is making a Bechamel. Exactly the same process. But one is not dealing with a roux. The result is SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was WAAAAAY too sweet for my tastes. Also, my rice didn't cook all the way through, so I had crunchy bits in my finished product. I DID like the the coconut milk and vanilla in this recipe, though, so I tried making it again starting with 1 1/2 cups of cooked rice (rather than 3/4 raw) and half the called for sugar and it was AMAZING. Perfect sweetness and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Awesome! Maybe cook a little longer....a little runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Best rice pudding I've ever had. I served it with a generous spoonful of balsamic strawberries and my husband gobbled it up. I plan to make it again and again and even though it is stovetop recipe, I found it easy to putter around the kitchen while it was cooking. Also, I served it in those Asian style square dishes and it was as beautiful as it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Little-Brock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is the best rise pudding ever, every one should try it at least once. I didn't change anything in the recipe and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made this the lazy way, just added the rice to the boiling milks then let cook approx. 20 min, then followed the recipe there on out. Very good! This is a tasty and rich dessert. I had half of a can of coconut milk left and this was the perfect way to use it up. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was time consuming but so worth it. The mango was a perfect addition. I love coconut so might, as another review said, double to amount of coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianmaj
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was a delight especially with the secret Chines 5 Spice and mango topping! It does require alot of time by the stove stirring so i suggest proper preparation i.e a glass of fabulous French fruit of the vine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianmaj
Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was a good idea, I enjoy risotto and rice pudding and this is like a cross between the two. I had the coconut milk but no regular milk, I only had vanilla soy milk but that worked. Didn't need to add much additional sugar because the vanilla soy is sweetened already. Next time I'll use real milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Jackpot! The result is a delightful, flavourful and very creamy pudding, well worth the time spent.I have made many quick rice puddings before, but was never able to get the same result you would get in a cozy Thai restaurant on Koh Chang island. Well, this recipe with a guidance of the great video gives you a very close resemblance in texture and taste of the product, and lots of pride in making one yourself. Many thanks to Chef John for detailed explanation of the process of cooking rice. I have never seen it done this way before, and loved learning a new way of cooking my rice. I cooked this pudding to take with us to a Vietnamese New year celebration - an Asian dessert was open to my interpretation, and I chose this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States