Coconut Milk Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Denise P
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
So delicious. I used cream of coconut, since it's what I had on hand. I also added shredded coconut towards the end. It's creamy & delicious. However my cook time was almost an hour, & ended adding more milk as needed. But like cheju John said it depends on your preference. Mine came out not so al dente, which is how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
To die for... In my opinion! Don't be shy on salt as it enhances the flavours. It took well over 30 minutes to cook. However the result was exactly what I was looking for. I omited the vanilla extract and the five-spice powder. The mango complements pefectly this pudding. I have had something similar at a Thai restaurant and been craving it eversince! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I loved this, as I love rice pudding, however, my hubby did not, (he isn't a huge rice pudding man) and my kids turned their nose at it. Although- that meant I got to eat ALL of it! - so no complaints :) It was a little more time consuming then I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I'm sorry to pooh-pooh Chef John's recipe, but I tried to make this three times and it never came out. After it was chilled, the rice seemed hard and the pudding did not "set." I tried cooking it longer, until we felt the rice was "done," and it turned into a starchy thick goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAllen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Very nice recipe for Sunday dinner with the family. Mild flavor but can add a little more taste with just a touch more vanilla extract or by using more coconut milk and less regular milk. Have recommended it to family and friends alike and all are very pleased with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aktifistri
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I tried this recipe for today's breakfast. Hubby and I love it lots!! Only we agreed to make this as special treats once a while because its richness - don't want to get heart-attack :p For daily we'll use basic recipe of rice pudding; milk, rice, salt, sugar, cinnamon and vanilla. I made some modification; using pineapple instead of mango since this season mango is still so expensive here! Other than that, I use the rice called 'nasi uduk' from last night's dinner instead of cooking from zero again. The rice I used was cooked with coconut oil already plus some herbs (cloves, bay leaves, and salt) - it's Indonesian style, so I didn't use extra coconut milk anymore.. It turned out well and soooo yummy! Still have a bowl in the fridge for tomorrow's snack or movie time.. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aktifistri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Ok..great recipe but too many pots and pans needed for such a simple dish. Great idea but I will use less pots and bowls... ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I loved this rice pudding!! I remember eating rice pudding a lot as a child and enjoyed it. I am amaze of how great the coconut milk enhances the flavor of this rice pudding. The only other two ingredients I added was a dash of nutmeg and cinnamon to get it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I would like to add to my other remarks, if allowed. Some reviewers remarked on the length of time etc. I don't understand. It is as though one is making a Bechamel. Exactly the same process. But one is not dealing with a roux. The result is SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States