Coconut Milk Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SilviaAna
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This recipe is excellent. I followed the instructions completely with the exception of replacing the mango topping with toasted coconut. My only issue, however, is that I felt there wasn't enough flavour. The coconut milk and vanilla extract gave it a lovely undertone but it was very mild. Next time I make it, I will be using coconut extract instead of vanilla extract, and doubling the amount to give it a stronger coconut flavour. Also, I think it would be a good idea to add a splash of rum or kahlua, and perhaps some raisins to make it a tad more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilviaAna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
good flavor but lots of work for no good reason. I make a very similar Indian rice pudding that just calls for boiling the rice in the coconut milk and milk. I've made it with arborio rice instead of jasmine and had no problems. rice did not clump and no butter was needed. I don't think the butter does anything for this and all the effort doesn't make it taste any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morganrai
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is an awesome recipe and it is such a great option for entertaining. My daughter hated rice pudding until I made this now she tells everyone about it. I made this and added a few twists of my own but anyone that wants to impress please make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morganrai

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is a great dish! I was hosting an asian-inspired dinner and decided to give this a try as the dessert. . I followed the recipe to a T except for the use of mango and 5 spice powder to garnish. Instead of these, I opted for toasted coconut and it was great. My guests, who seemed a little weary of the dessert when I told them what we were having, said that they loved it once the had a bite! The recipe as is makes 4 small servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was WAAAAAY too sweet for my tastes. Also, my rice didn't cook all the way through, so I had crunchy bits in my finished product. I DID like the the coconut milk and vanilla in this recipe, though, so I tried making it again starting with 1 1/2 cups of cooked rice (rather than 3/4 raw) and half the called for sugar and it was AMAZING. Perfect sweetness and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made this the lazy way, just added the rice to the boiling milks then let cook approx. 20 min, then followed the recipe there on out. Very good! This is a tasty and rich dessert. I had half of a can of coconut milk left and this was the perfect way to use it up. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I would like to add to my other remarks, if allowed. Some reviewers remarked on the length of time etc. I don't understand. It is as though one is making a Bechamel. Exactly the same process. But one is not dealing with a roux. The result is SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Best rice pudding I've ever had. I served it with a generous spoonful of balsamic strawberries and my husband gobbled it up. I plan to make it again and again and even though it is stovetop recipe, I found it easy to putter around the kitchen while it was cooking. Also, I served it in those Asian style square dishes and it was as beautiful as it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Little-Brock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianmaj
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was a delight especially with the secret Chines 5 Spice and mango topping! It does require alot of time by the stove stirring so i suggest proper preparation i.e a glass of fabulous French fruit of the vine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianmaj
Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise P
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
So delicious. I used cream of coconut, since it's what I had on hand. I also added shredded coconut towards the end. It's creamy & delicious. However my cook time was almost an hour, & ended adding more milk as needed. But like cheju John said it depends on your preference. Mine came out not so al dente, which is how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States