Coconut Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is a very easy recipe and a good way to use up "leftover" egg whites! I doubled the recipe and used unsweetend coconut flakes. The coconut gives the meringues more flavor and makes it more dense than the regular light and airy meringues. I tinted it blue - we call them meringue clouds. They just melt in your mouth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tynne
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Easy & Good! Bonus is these goodies won't derail your diet at the holidays.... I made a few batches and experimented with different extracts but the coconut ones were by far my favorite! I added 2 drops of green food coloring with the extract. I think next time I might tint the coconut RED and the meringues Green... very festive! One more tip- instead of dropping them by teaspoons I put it in a Qt size ziplock bag and cut the tip and piped them on so I could add a slight swirl- they turned out great and look pretty- see picture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This was my first time making meringue, and it turned out perfect! I beat it until the egg white mix didn't slide around in the bowl when I tipped it- took about 15 minutes on med-high. I did not add the almond extract. They were a bit too sweet, next time I will use only 1/2 cup powdered sugar, or make sure I use unsweetened coconut. I will also double the recipe, because 12 of these was not enough! My kids called them "cloud cookies", I will definitely make them again and again! Thanks for such a fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
These were very good, I enjoyed them a lot. I don't think I will add the almond extract next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieInAlaska
Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Too too too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat_23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Followed everything to a T. My roommate loved them but I could barely eat one of these because it was far too sweet in my opinion. It's definitely one that you either love or hate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
The best coconut meringues ever! An absolute favorite in my house. If you like coconut and meringue you cannot go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is a great recipe! I will make it again and again! I took the advice of fellow reviewers and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, because I was using sweetened coconut. I also added 3 drops of blue food coloring to make them more cloud-like. I did have to bake them for an additional 10 minutes, but I am working with a new oven. All in all, fluffy, adorable, and VERY low cal. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
MY HUSBAND LOVES THIS RECIPE HE MAKES ME MAKE IT FOR HIM ALL THE TIME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe. I doubled it up, since I had 4 egg whites to use. I also chopped the coconut in a food processor for a few pulses, so the coconut was not so "stringy" and used half almond extract and half coconut extract. Delicious on their own but even more incredible when sandwiched together with whipped cream (I added a couple of teaspoons of cream of coconut instant pudding to the cream instead of sugar when whipping!) Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States