Coconut Margaritas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Of course I have to give it 5 stars - it's my recipe. One hint, don't overpoor the tequila as you can very easily make the drink too bitter. If you do then just dash in a little extra Triple-Sec and a spoonful or so of extra coconut cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I loved this margarita with two small changes. I added 1 1/2 oz lime juice to the mix. Then I mixed 1/8 tsp salt into the shredded coconut and toasted it in the oven and crumbled it before rimming the glasses with it (which I dipped in extra lime juice first). The house smells heavenly while your toasting the coconut, but be sure to watch it carefully. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Coconut margaritas are my new favorite drink!!!! I added the lime mixture as well, really need that hint of sour! There is a reason they wrote the song "put the lime in the coconut....make it feel better!" Also served it on the rocks, not blended!!! Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
NEEDS MORE COCONUT! I added fresh squeezed lime juice (2 limes) & toasted the coconut with the salt for the rim. Very refreshing, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I also added some frozen fruit; a few strawberries, mango chunks or peach slices. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Lynwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This recipe is fabulous - like a Pina Colada made with Tequila instead of Rum. I add about 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk to the recipe to cut back on the sweetness and the strength - makes it a bit more coconutty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe but I was really disappointed with it. I think tequila and coconut cream wasn`t good combination. The cocktail was sour, it seemed some ingredient wasn`t fresh. At second, this was too strong. I felt only spirit. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is an excellent drink. I did add 1 1/2 oz. of lime juice, so I don't know how it tastes without it...but I highly recommend adding it. Also served on the rocks from a pitcher rather than blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKYNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
very strong! I could not finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I was disappointed in this recipe. The flavors did not mix well together. We ended up adding some agave nectar to make it a little sweeter, and that helped some, but still was not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States