Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These turned out wonderfully, very simple to make. Just a couple of comments: I left out the almond extract as my nephew has a nut allergy & everyone still thought they were delicious. Also, I baked them on sheets lined with parchment paper instead of foil. This eliminated the need to grease the foil, and preserved the gluten-free nature of the recipe (my sister has celiac disease, & Pam for Baking contains flour, so that wasn't an option.) I was able to reuse the parchment sheets for each batch; the cookies slid right off the paper & cleanup was a cinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
674 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I use unsweetened coconut when making these and they turn out great. I often omit the egg also. One time I just forgot it, and they turned out better. I also use a small scoop to form them and then press slightly with the bottom of the cookie scoop once they are dropped onto the pan. I use Pam on the foil or more often parchment and haven't had a problem with sticking when I take them off immediately. It's a nice touch to place a piece of sliced almond on top after baking, or to dip the tops in a little melted dark chocolate. I've served these at my daughter's weddings. I recently changed my rating of these from a 4 to a 5 because I continue to make them after 4 years, and they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I made a test batch because of all the varying reviews, but I needn't have worried. Soooo easy to make, even with a toddler at my heels. I pretty much followed the recommendations of the other reviewers..I whipped the egg white till it formed soft peaks, used unsweetened coconut - I think it would have been too sweet otherwise. I added the almond extract to the condensed milk and mixed it together before adding the other ingredients (I only used 1 tsp). I formed little balls with the mixture, pressing them down slightly, then put them on greased tin foil. After about 15 min. at 325 they started to get brown on the bottom, and I removed them immediately from pan. They came out perfectly and didn't spread at all. I will definately be making a big batch of these for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I found this to be a very easy recipe. I did alter it a bit. First I doubled the recipe (with 8 married kids and 13 grandchildren I double everything), then, to prevent the cookies from flattening I added another 14oz bag of coconut. I rolled them with my fingers a bit forming balls. The balls kept their shape just fine. Then I poured a chocolate glaze. I had read another reviewer's comment about not over-cooking them. If stored in an airtight container the toasted coconut will soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Really liked this recipe - I followed a lot of the tips of everyone else. I whipped the egg white and the condensed milk together to give it a bit of volume. As well, I also added about 1/2 a cup of flour, as many of the other ratings said they were too runny. The flour gave it excellent consistency and the taste is still great! The balls of macaroon kept their shape perfectly. Oh! And to prevent them from sticking to the pan I used silicon mats/silpat - did the trick, didn't need any foil or non-stick coatings at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I think these are very good, however I did leave out the egg white. They are a very sweet cookie so I think the next time I will add a little flour to see if that cuts the sweetness on them. I had no problem removing them from the pans because I used parchment paper. I use it on all my cookies actually because you can just slide the whole bunch off your sheets for cooling. Try parchment! You will LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Thebarge Hill

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
First off, use aluminum foil as it states in the recipe to line your cookie sheets & you won't have a problem with them sticking. This recipe is really easy & delicious. Also I found that turning my spatula over so that it is in a 45 degree angle helped to remove each macaroon easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
These are good, just a word of warning for anyone making these. I put the waxed paper on the cookie sheet, buttered and floured, the trick to removing them after they are cooked is to remove them immediately from the cookie sheet or else they will all stick and you will get very frustrated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
My husband and father love these, I also made some with drizzled cholate over them. They are requested every Chrismas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
good recipe! these turned out pretty well! i whipped the egg white to soft peak before adding the rest of the ingredients- they olny spread a bit during baking. next time i think i will whip the can of S. C. milk, too. (yes, it does whip up some) i thought the dough was a little soft- next time i will buy more coconut and add untill i get the right consistancy. beacuse they were a little soft, i got my hands wet and made balls to put on the cookie sheet- then they didn't spread much at all. i cooked them at 325 (to dry them out) for 15min or so and they were lovely! i don't know what every one else is doing w/ the foil- because i sprayed "pam for baking" on my foil and they come off great- maybe theirs were too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States