Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made these today and I can only say WOW. I didn't modify the recipe in any way, but I will follow the recommended advice to use parchment paper instead of foil next time. The aroma of these baking was absolutely amazing, and I admit I was craving a glass of Amaretto after LOL. I will definitely be making these for the holidays coming up. Absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryland Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Büdingen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Fabulous recipe! I brought these to a cookie swap a few years ago and am always asked to bring them again! Like others, I use parchment paper to line the cookie sheets; I re-use the same paper for the entire batch of cookies. Also, I use a small, rounded scoop to put the cookies on the paper. They pretty much retain their shape while baking and this ensures moist, chewy macaroons. As a special treat, I press an unwrapped Hershey's Kiss into the macaroon when they are fresh out of the oven (before removing from the cookie sheet), then I move them to a rack to cool. When they cool, it is a chocolate / coconut sensation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I did not like the taste of these at all. Perhaps I added a little too much almond extract. They just tasted off. My husband didn't care for them either. I took them to work to get rid of them. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I didn't make these..My daughter did for Mother's day..I have one word...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was a good recipe and quite easy. I drizzled melted dark chocolate over them after they cooled and they were quite delicious that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Cooke
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
These came out perfect for me, but only on the second go-around after I'd worked out the bugs. First, the All Recipes version contains an obvious error: it's just 1/2 tsp of almond extract, NOT 1-1/2 tsp. . Second, this recipe absolutely *needs* 1/2 cup of flour added, to hold the cookies together. Otherwise they get runny in the oven and turn into puddles of sweetened coconut. But, once I made those two changes, I'm pretty happy with how they look and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Cooke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
OMGOSH is all I can say!!! These were awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Not sure what happened but when my brother tried to make these they turned out a soggy mess that we had to drain and reshape into balls after we baked them. They still taste good though. It could be because we had shredded instead of flaked coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugargirl84

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Easy to over or under bake these macaroons. Also, not much substance to them, seemed like they needed more ingredients. I lessened the almond extract to 1t and it was plenty of almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These turned out really well considering it was my first time. I did use the egg though some suggested not using it. Next time, I will be sure to roll the cookies into tight balls before putting on the cookie sheet because it was really hard to get the baked cookies off the sheet without them breaking apart. They were all completely stuck to the bottom even though I greased and floured the pan prior to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States