Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I omitted the almond extract. I wish I hadn't but didn't have any on hand. Mine came out super sticky. I do not think I cooked them long enough. They tasted good but kinda hard to eat. I will definitely make them again but cook them longer. I cooked them about 15-16 minutes but they could probably have gone about 20. I also cooked them on wax paper and that seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKigloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe just didn't work for us. We added more coconut than the recipe called for and added 1/4 c of flour. We also whipped the egg white as indicated in the reviews. They were still really sticky and runny. We won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I found that using an entire 14 ounce package made the taste of coconut a little overpowering. Being that I would prefer more of a cookie taste, I would probably use less coconut in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These are the best cookies.I put a milk chocolate wafer from the bulk food section on top of each one and they are to die for! my boyfriend can't stop eating them! I'm definately making them for the Christmas baking club!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dockgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
easy-schmeasy recipe! make sure you beat egg white to STIFF PEAKS and use parchment paper.....no sticking!!!!!!!!! i like making them smaller rather than bigger so each cookie gets more carmelized and i drizzle with melted dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
By itself, a good recipe for macaroons. I don't have any problem keeping the cookies together, and didn't add more coconut. I make them bigger, about 32 cookies. I also drizzle 70% chocolate on top. This makes them have a better presentation- and even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These macaroons turned out soooo much better than the first time I made "Rock hard hockey pucks" 38 years ago!! I followed reviews and added 1/3c of flour to make sure they didn't spread out, and they didn't. Also used 1/2t of coconut extract for more flavor. I topped them with a single raw almond and a dollop of melted semi-sweet chocolate chips. I am going to try these again and do it as the recipe is written just to see how they taste with out the flour. Still not sure about the using almond extra in the amount stated though. All in all a very easy cookie to make. Oh, I did beat the egg white to a firm peak before folding into the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I'm surely doing something wrong because this is supposed to be easy and versatile. First I forgot to whip the egg and that turned out pathetic. With the next batch, I whipped it well and then whipped the condensed milk in with it. They run all over the pan. So then I put them in a silicaon mold to hold them together, but they still fall apart and don't come out like all the pretty cookies in the pictures. I'm not giving up yet, but certaily wouldn't say this recipe is for dunces like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
These were great! I did follow the tip on adding some flour and the consistancy was perfect. When they came out of the oven I put a (whole natural) almond in the middle and drizzled chocolate over them, yumo its an almond joy!!!! Next time I may try some slivered almonds then do the chocolate, so the almond is all through the cookie. I will definatley be making these through the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
A good, easy recipe. My batch needed an additional 10 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caradae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States