Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
My husband and father love these, I also made some with drizzled cholate over them. They are requested every Chrismas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I left out the almond extract, as I did not see it pleasing to my taste preferences. I also omitted the use of foil. It isn't necessary as long as you thoroughly grease and flour the baking sheets you use, and still remove the cookies immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I found this to be a very easy recipe. I did alter it a bit. First I doubled the recipe (with 8 married kids and 13 grandchildren I double everything), then, to prevent the cookies from flattening I added another 14oz bag of coconut. I rolled them with my fingers a bit forming balls. The balls kept their shape just fine. Then I poured a chocolate glaze. I had read another reviewer's comment about not over-cooking them. If stored in an airtight container the toasted coconut will soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
First off, use aluminum foil as it states in the recipe to line your cookie sheets & you won't have a problem with them sticking. This recipe is really easy & delicious. Also I found that turning my spatula over so that it is in a 45 degree angle helped to remove each macaroon easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I use unsweetened coconut when making these and they turn out great. I often omit the egg also. One time I just forgot it, and they turned out better. I also use a small scoop to form them and then press slightly with the bottom of the cookie scoop once they are dropped onto the pan. I use Pam on the foil or more often parchment and haven't had a problem with sticking when I take them off immediately. It's a nice touch to place a piece of sliced almond on top after baking, or to dip the tops in a little melted dark chocolate. I've served these at my daughter's weddings. I recently changed my rating of these from a 4 to a 5 because I continue to make them after 4 years, and they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These turned out wonderfully, very simple to make. Just a couple of comments: I left out the almond extract as my nephew has a nut allergy & everyone still thought they were delicious. Also, I baked them on sheets lined with parchment paper instead of foil. This eliminated the need to grease the foil, and preserved the gluten-free nature of the recipe (my sister has celiac disease, & Pam for Baking contains flour, so that wasn't an option.) I was able to reuse the parchment sheets for each batch; the cookies slid right off the paper & cleanup was a cinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
677 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I just made a batch of these and they came out wonderful! Very easy and I followed the direction exactly. Can't wait to take them to the cookie exchange this week. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I couldn't find this recipe anywhere until now. I had forgot (and my Mom had forgot)how to make them. I thank the previous ladies for submiting their ideas! I have made them, and they are great -- reminiscent of the OLD days when Mom made them for Christmas and colored them with red and green food coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is the first macroon recipe I ever tried and I think they turned out just about perfect! I used parchment paper and didn't have any problems with them sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Big fan of coconut, but had never dared make macaroons at home. Until today. This recipe is easy, quick and delicious. I added significanly more coconut and omitted the almond extract - didn't have any - and they taste great. They are a bit drippy on the bottom but, I think next time I might add another egg white to stiffen them a bit more. Good idea? I used parchment paper and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States