Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
My husband and father love these, I also made some with drizzled cholate over them. They are requested every Chrismas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I found this to be a very easy recipe. I did alter it a bit. First I doubled the recipe (with 8 married kids and 13 grandchildren I double everything), then, to prevent the cookies from flattening I added another 14oz bag of coconut. I rolled them with my fingers a bit forming balls. The balls kept their shape just fine. Then I poured a chocolate glaze. I had read another reviewer's comment about not over-cooking them. If stored in an airtight container the toasted coconut will soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
These are good, just a word of warning for anyone making these. I put the waxed paper on the cookie sheet, buttered and floured, the trick to removing them after they are cooked is to remove them immediately from the cookie sheet or else they will all stick and you will get very frustrated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Too sweet for me. Guess I'm not a fan of sweetened condensed milk. I buttered and floured the wax paper and they still stuck to the paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I use unsweetened coconut when making these and they turn out great. I often omit the egg also. One time I just forgot it, and they turned out better. I also use a small scoop to form them and then press slightly with the bottom of the cookie scoop once they are dropped onto the pan. I use Pam on the foil or more often parchment and haven't had a problem with sticking when I take them off immediately. It's a nice touch to place a piece of sliced almond on top after baking, or to dip the tops in a little melted dark chocolate. I've served these at my daughter's weddings. I recently changed my rating of these from a 4 to a 5 because I continue to make them after 4 years, and they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
First off, use aluminum foil as it states in the recipe to line your cookie sheets & you won't have a problem with them sticking. This recipe is really easy & delicious. Also I found that turning my spatula over so that it is in a 45 degree angle helped to remove each macaroon easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Even with greasing the foil, these are nearly impossible to take off the tray hot or cooled. Macaroons in general are always tricky to remove. They do taste good, but of the 40 I baked six were beyond repair and the rest all needed some remolding after they were removed from the tray. That's what I get for trying to take a short cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
While these are very tasty, I had a huge problem with them oozing all over the place. There was liquid seeping out all over my cookie sheets. I made 4 batches for a cookie exchange and will have to dip the bottoms in chocolate so they don't look so messy. I used Reynolds "Release" foil and had no problem with sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
good recipe! these turned out pretty well! i whipped the egg white to soft peak before adding the rest of the ingredients- they olny spread a bit during baking. next time i think i will whip the can of S. C. milk, too. (yes, it does whip up some) i thought the dough was a little soft- next time i will buy more coconut and add untill i get the right consistancy. beacuse they were a little soft, i got my hands wet and made balls to put on the cookie sheet- then they didn't spread much at all. i cooked them at 325 (to dry them out) for 15min or so and they were lovely! i don't know what every one else is doing w/ the foil- because i sprayed "pam for baking" on my foil and they come off great- maybe theirs were too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Really liked this recipe - I followed a lot of the tips of everyone else. I whipped the egg white and the condensed milk together to give it a bit of volume. As well, I also added about 1/2 a cup of flour, as many of the other ratings said they were too runny. The flour gave it excellent consistency and the taste is still great! The balls of macaroon kept their shape perfectly. Oh! And to prevent them from sticking to the pan I used silicon mats/silpat - did the trick, didn't need any foil or non-stick coatings at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States