Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I think this recipe is missing the refrigeration before baking or something. The cookies didn't hold their shape when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and it did not hold together in the oven at all - all the liquid seeped out into a goopy mess. Avoid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My husband made this recipe yesterday and we think they're wonderful! We made two small changes - the egg white was not whipped but rather stirred into the condensed milk and we left out the almond extract. We also made the cookies fairly large - ended up with 2 dozen, not 4 dozen. We will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I followed it to a tee and they were overall disappointing. First, consistency was super wet (actually an excess of wet ingredients) making them difficult to place on cookie sheet. Secondly, I removed them right away onto a cooling rack once baked, and they practically fell apart! THEN they stuck to the cooling rack (after letting them cool for over an hour) and ruined the bottom of every macaroon. They taste was OK, more like a coconut candy than a traditional coconut macaroon. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I too had the experience of them being runny. I did not alter the recipe at all. Everything ran together, and they stuck to the greased, floured foil liner. I was able to scrape enough coconut off of the pan to put together about fourteen macaroons. I have been baking for forty years, and carefully follow a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
after reading mixed reviews I thought I'd give it a try anyway. It spread just like one reviewer stated. I did try to taste it, and from what I could pick out to try, I'm glad that I only used 1/2 tsp of almond extract as another reviewer pointed out to do. Will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made these today and I can only say WOW. I didn't modify the recipe in any way, but I will follow the recommended advice to use parchment paper instead of foil next time. The aroma of these baking was absolutely amazing, and I admit I was craving a glass of Amaretto after LOL. I will definitely be making these for the holidays coming up. Absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rylandmadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Büdingen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Fabulous recipe! I brought these to a cookie swap a few years ago and am always asked to bring them again! Like others, I use parchment paper to line the cookie sheets; I re-use the same paper for the entire batch of cookies. Also, I use a small, rounded scoop to put the cookies on the paper. They pretty much retain their shape while baking and this ensures moist, chewy macaroons. As a special treat, I press an unwrapped Hershey's Kiss into the macaroon when they are fresh out of the oven (before removing from the cookie sheet), then I move them to a rack to cool. When they cool, it is a chocolate / coconut sensation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I did not like the taste of these at all. Perhaps I added a little too much almond extract. They just tasted off. My husband didn't care for them either. I took them to work to get rid of them. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I didn't make these..My daughter did for Mother's day..I have one word...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States