Coconut Macaroons IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Really quite easy and I love the crunch of the corn flakes. Merengue tip - let your egg whites warm to room temp before whipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
So, I made these over the Christmas '11 weeekend and again today. The first time, I followed the recipe for most part, except I left out the cereal. I didn't have any cornflakes. Toward the end of the batches, I decided I wanted more coconut, so I piled more in. The next time I made the recipe, I doubled the eggs, left our the cereal and used a whole bag of coconut. I did not quite double the sugar. Oh, both times I also added vanilla. I liked the results well, so I give the recipe a 4 star rating more or less as a base for jumping off. Next time, I may use some vanilla and some almond extract for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Combest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These are just like "Coconut-Cornflake Cookies"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Simple to make but I found using powdered sugar instead of the granulated sugar was just the right sweetness and kept the fluffy texture. I also used coco rice crisps instead of the cornflakes, it added a wonderful light chocolate/coconut flavor! I really didn't follow the recipe, since I used 3 egg whites and 1 C of powdered sugar, so I added as much coconut and rice crisps as I felt it needed. I also baked these at a lower temperature (325) since I was also baking meringues and they turned out fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roundhousecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perkins, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I used Corn Chex since we are a gluten free family. I also used 3 egg whites instead of two. They were super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
When I made the recipe, the batter did not stick together. It tells you to bake for 18 min. but I only put 10 and the macaroons were burnt. There is way to much sugar in the recipe. There more like cookies than macaroons. Would not recomend at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These were really good, I like that they didn't spread out much while cooking. I also liked the light texture to these for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is what I was looking for. Excellent and no added fat recipe.I lessened the sugar to 1/2 cup as I was using sugared cornflakes. Dont let them get browed-they turn hard.I did not have flaked coconut so used dessicated one and they still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I've been making these cookies for years from a recipe handed down from my grandmother. Basically the same receipe, but we didn't crush the cereal. Best if baked on parchment paper or silicone sheets for easy removal. Always a favorite with my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Knapp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Everytime I have made these, they are a hit with people at work, and my family. The last time I made was at Christmas 2008 and my mom just loves these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States