Coconut Macaroons III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
These taste pretty good but perhaps a bit plain for me. I do have a process tip though: first combine the liquid ingredients and the flour to make a smooth paste. Only then should you add the coconut. This will let you simply focus on coating the coconut rather than trying to mix everything at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is a great recipe, exactly as posted. I've made them several times, always with excellent reviews. One hint to make it easier-- when forming the macaroon, dampen your fingers or the scoop; the mixture will slide off easier. A couple of embellishments: Use one tsp. almond and one tsp. vanilla. And/or embed an almond in the center of each one. Or put an almond on top of each one. Any way you make them, this is a simple and fail-safe recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Easiest and most delicious coconut macaroons I've ever made! Condensed milk is super sweet to begin with, so make sure to use unsweetened coconut flakes (or unsweetened shredded coconut). To make these even better, drizzle some melted dark chocolate over the baked and cooled macaroons. so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I give this an "A" for its simplicity. Parchment paper and refrigerating the dough is important. The taste and texture left me wanting a different recipe. I have been cutting down on refined sugar and make every dessert with 1/2 or less of the specified amount. Over time your taste buds adapt and you enjoy the reduced sugar dessert even more. I thought these would be a good choice because the sweetness came from the flaked coconut and sweetened evaporated milk. They turned out to be way too sweet. I dipped some in melted bittersweet/semisweet chocolate with 4 tablespoons heavy cream in a double boiler. I am going to search out another recipe, perhaps one that uses heavy cream or evaporated milk instead of the sweetened type. Overall I have been very successful removing 50% of refined sugar in my baking. It took about 6 desserts to get here and now I actually prefer using less sugar and enjoying the fruit, nuts, berries or texture of the dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Love this recipe. Best macaroons ever. Since there's no egg you don't run the risk of them being eggy. Since it has lots of sweetened condensed milk they don't get dry like many macaroons I've had. And are get super chewy and soft after baking! I've tried them with almond extract (substituting half the vanilla) and they're bomb. Parchment paper is a must -- I've tried wax paper and foil, and both stuff. I actually oil the parchment paper and sticking is never an issue. One complaint -- before they get toasted enough on top, they are too brown on the bottom. Not sure if it's my oven or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Easiest recipe ever!! And one of my favorites! My friends all LOVE when I make these. There's no way to screw up since there's no whipped egg whites involved or leavener involved. The thing that annoys me though, is the smoke that comes pouring out of the oven once it's done. It's oil from the coconut shreds, which can't be helped, but be warned. I also thought it would come out waaay too sweet, but it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ze Young Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
These are so easy and fantastic. My family makes these every year for Christmas, and I was looking for a recipe to replicate it now that I live on a different continent. These are it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Mazzle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made this recipe but i found that they were a bit too hard. Any idea as to why? Too much coconut? Too much flour? Too long in the oven??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maha Kassef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Best macaroon recipe on this site. Expensive ingredients for so few cookies but a still must have for you personal stash of Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
So so. Needed a bit more flavor, but had a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 855) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States