Coconut Macaroons III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I think this is an absolutely wonderful Southern style macaroon. I prefer the chewy texture over an egg white style. I think it's a matter of preference. I added 4 tbs of real maple syrup and 1 tsp of butter extract.... I added the condensed milk(warmed in hot water), flour, salt, syrup, and butter extract to my food processor and pulsed until blended. Then I added my coconut and pulsed until just mixed.I poured it into a freezer bag and let sit overnight in the refrigerator. When I was ready to cook I just snipped off a corner a squeezed quarter sized cookies onto my parchment. I wouldn't use anything on the parchment because they will spread. I had no problem with them sticking and I used the same piece of parchment for three pans full. If I were to caution anything it would be to be careful with the flour. A little less is okay (in the food processor anyway) Wait on your review until you have tasted these cookies the next day... They get better overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
These were amazing! I doubled the recipe, which worked very well. Also used a little more vanilla than called for because I love vanilla. They also took a little longer than stated in my oven. SO SO good, easy, and versatile. Next time I will dip some in chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Dry and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Cookies came out great. But waaaay too sweet. I used sweeten coconut flakes because that's all they had at few stores I went to. 5 star probably with unsweetened. Again personal preference. For me they were too sweet but my dh loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
OMG- these are soooooo good! They are more like candy than a cookie- chewy, very sweet. Yes, you can taste the condensed milk, but in a good way. There are two great textures going on- crunchy on the outside, and so chewy inside. They do soften up slightly when put into a container, but retain a wonderful exterior. If I could give more than five stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Made as is. Very easy, very good. I also used parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Agrillo71
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
These are fantastic and so easy my 11yr old daughter and her friend did most of the work. They wanted to dip them in chocolate - personally I prefer them plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These were ok. Pretty much just tastes like chewy sweetened condensed milk. Wasn't at all what I was hoping for. Going to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I absolutely HEART this recipe. I've literally made hundreds and hundreds of them during the past 2 years and have gotten nothing but compliments. I will make them again for my kiddos' school's teachers' Christmas cookie exchange. To make them a little more festive, I sprinkle green and red sanding sugar BEFORE I bake them and after they've cooled, I dip the bottom in melted chocolate. Yum. Yum. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
These are awesome. I did refrigerate the dough and used a cookie scoop to make them uniform in size. A definite keeper and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States