Coconut Macaroons III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This is the real thing. Parchment paper is a must here. I've tried adding a teaspoon of almond extract for a change with great sucess. I like to refrigerate the dough for a couple of hours which results in a much rounder macaroon that can be dipped in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
800 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
The ease of making these decadent cookies belies how wonderful they are: Blue Ribbon Winner for sure! My husband, who likes coconut only in very small doses and only toasted, could not stop eating them. I found that the recipe yielded 18 cookies that were larger than golf balls and that took the full 15 minutes to bake. Also, a 14-ounce package of coconut equaled the 5 1/2 cups. Perfect! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
724 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This is a great easy recipe. I used a Matfer silicon pad on my cookie sheet which eliminated any sticking and burning. Athough the recipe doesn't specify it, I HIGHLY suggest using sweetened coconut. Also, I subsituted one of the tsps of vanilla extract for almond extract, which worked great. I definitely suggest mixing the extract(s) into the condensed milk before adding to the coconut mix - that way you are sure the flavor is evenly distributed throughout the dough. Molding the cookies was a quite a sticky process, so I just dipped a couple of fingers in a little bit of water as I patted down the dough so that I could get the cookies into a solid shape and still be able to get them onto the cookie sheet in one piece. As an aside, I have made chocolate macaroons before by adding a square (or two) of melted unsweetened bakers chocolate to the condensed milk mix, and I am sure that would work for this recipe as well. Or you could try pressing a maraschino cherry into the top of each cookie - it makes for a very classy presentation - people love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
411 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Gift Idea: Shape coconut into small tablespoon-sized ovals/rectangles, then bake. Drizzle thin strips of chocolate, or dip cookie in chocolate. After cooling, slip into cupcake liners and stack inside plastic, festive "treat bags" & tie with ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly as written, and am not at all disappointed. I did use sweetened flake coconut, since that was what I had in the house -- but I think that was the intent here, anyway. I also refrigerated the dough for a couple of hours before scooping it out (didn't intend to, just had to stop for a kid emergency). These turned out great. Didn't stick to the parchment. Were great warm from the oven, and almost better the 2nd day. The only thing I think I'll change next time is to bake them a little longer (as others have suggested) to bring out more of the toasted flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
We have a tradition of always making these macaroons at Christmas. They're really great! We use 1 t. vanilla and 1 t. almond extract as others have suggested. Also, mixing the extracts and condensed milk first and then adding it to the coconut mixture makes the whole process much easier. Third, make sure to use parchment on your cookie sheets. Finally, top with red or green candied cherry halves to make them more festive. The taste is fantastic and they look great on your cookie plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
After many trials and errors for the perfect macaroon, this is it! I have had more compliments on these cookies. I do melt about 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips with 1 teaspoon of shortening and then drizzle them over the cookie using a plastic zip-type storage bag with the corner cut off. Very, very impressive. They store very well, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is a wonderful Macaroon! I used 1 and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. reduced the oven temp to 325 and made the cookies a little smaller and baked for 15-17 minutes. I got 30 cookies out of it. Used a small cookie scoop. Yummmmmmmmy! Can't wait to share them with the ladies at work. This is one of the better recipes I have stumbled upon. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
THIS IS A GREAT BASE RECIPE, I ADDED CHOPPED ALMONDS AND SEMI-SWEET CHOC CHIPS AS WELL AS 1/2 TSP OF ALMOND EXTRACT. MY FAMILY LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Great recipe. Should have discovered this years ago. Have had a few proposals from this one. I make a chocolate dip (3 Squares Choc bark and 1/2 cup semisweet choc chips, melted in micro) dip the bottoms in the chocolate and set aside to cool Super
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States