Coconut Macaroons II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
Delicious! This is the same recipe my mom made when we were kids. And, it turns out that this is the recipe that brought me to this website for the first time. Craving "mom's" macaroons (but not remembering the exact recipe), I ran a query for +"coconut macaroons" +"condensed milk" on Yahoo, and "Shazam" here I am! I just made a batch and they came out perfect. I used a baking stone rather than a standard cookie sheet, though. The result was flawless - - no trouble whatsoever with them falling apart or sticking. I also tested "teaspoon drops" vs. "rolled balls" and both came out great. The looser drop versions come out a little crispier, and the individual flakes of coconut browned rather pretty. The rolled ball version comes out a little more juicy, with a more finished, all-over browning affect; and a little less crispy because the flakes of coconut are pressed into the balls. If you're a coconut lover, these are just to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
I hope those of you that had a bad first experience will try again. I have used this recipe for my boyfriend and his father for several years and they really love them. Even though I am not a macaroon fan, they are really good. There are a few suggestions I have to make them easier for those that complained they are too gooey. 1 - use parchment instead of foil... still grease it! 2 - use an ice cream scoop to dish the coconut mixture onto pan and press hard to firmly pack it. 3 - reduce oven temp by about 25 degrees to cook them slower... this prevents them from spreading out all over the pan. You know they are done when the edges get nice and brown. My boyfriend likes them even more done so that they almost look like coffee on the edges. If I ever lose the recipe, I always come back to search for this exact one. For special occasions, I even add food coloring to the condensed milk before stirring into the coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I made some changed advised by people here. I lowered the oven temperature 25 degrees and ended up cooking them about twice as long (keeping a close watch to see when they browned). I also added 1/2 cup of matzoh meal (made these for passover) and put the batter in the fridge for 15 -- 20 minutes. I rolled them into balls and they didn't run at all. Even the ones I didn't roll baked fine. I used greased tinfoil on my cookie sheets and greased the spatula I used to get them up and had no trouble there. I removed them from the cookie sheet *immediately* and that might have made a difference. My sister and husband said that these were the best macaroons they ever had!!! I made one batch vanilla and one batch with 1/2 cup of cocoa and here it is 2 days later and not one is left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2000
made these for my girlfiend's seder at passover. guests who don't normally like macaroons repeatedly raved about these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
This was very easy to make. I think if I used just a tad less coconut and really mixed it better it would have been great. My son loved this cookie and it is very fast and easy to make. I would make these again. I form balls with the cookie dough with my hands and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
I make these for a party and everyone LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
These macaroons were very easy, and tasted wonderful. They have become a new favorite! I recommend rolling them into tight balls before baking and they hold together fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I made these for a party and they were a hit. The next time I had to make 20 dozen and they still didn't last. Easy enough for my 8 & 10 year olds to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Oh my gosh!!! These cookies were great and easy to make! I had no problems with them spreading. The thing I had to be careful about was making them small enough so they would not be too soggy. I also gave them a little push in the middle to flatten them a little bit. The almond extract is the perfect touch to this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Yum Yum!!! Tastes like an Almond Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States