Coconut Macaroons II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
The macaroons came out great! I followed the suggestions of chilling the mixture before baking. I threw it in the fridge overnight and baked them in the morning. I didn't use the easy release foil, instead I greased the sheet generously. The suggestion of leaving the macaroons on the pan for two minutes does help in removing them. After removing them, I placed the macaroons on a lined a sheet with wax paper and threw them in the fridge (it holds its shape better). I kept everything in the recipe the same except for the amount of coconut: I used three bags of the bakers brand flaked coconut. The batch made about 80 macaroons. I was skeptical at first, but everyone who tasted it, loved it...it's especially great if you dip them in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I've found the PERFECT combination for this recipe. I use 2 (14 oz) bags of Baker's brand coconut then the sweetened condensed milk and the extracts. I chill my mixture for two hours so it's easier to work with. I roll a teaspoon of the mixture between my palms lightly to form a ball and drop on the cookie sheets. I bake them for 12 min at 325 degrees. They're easier to remove from the tray if you let them set-up on the tray for 2 min. after removing from the oven. I allow them to cool on wax paper, then dip the bottoms in melted semi-sweet chocolate and put on a wax paper lined cookie sheet in the frige. They are incredible and look so pretty with my holiday cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
These taste good, but don't hold together at all.Also stuck to the pan despite using Pam.I am still looking for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Hedrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I consider myself to be a good cook and have made many recipes from this site. However, these came out HORRIBLE. I made them for Passover to take to my in-laws, and now I have to throw them in the garbage and buy some from the store instead. First of all, they don't taste like the traditional macaroons everyone expects to have on Passover. Secondly, I had to increase the time by about 12 minutes to get them the proper color, but doing so caused the bottoms to stick to the foil and become a complete waste of time and money. Never again will I make these awful excuses for macaroons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This wasn't quite what I was expecting. The flavor is a little off for macaroons, tasting slightly of caramel and coconuts. What's more the texture was way too chewy. With some melted dark chocolate and a little caramel topping, they do resemble Girl Scout Samoas, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Thanks so much Robin! I made the cookies just as the recipe directs, except I did take the advice of other reviewers and chilled the dough, and I lowered the baking temp to 325 and baked them longer. I pushed a Dove chocolate candy into the top of each right from the oven, let it melt then swirled it for a chocolate topping . My in-laws are big coconut fans--they joked that after almost 30 years together that fighting over these cookies is the only thing that has made them consider a divorce! I also put the baked cookies under a low broiler for a few minutes (under close watch) to get them nice and crispy on top. My father-in-law is a paver and I told him that if he could mix cement he could make these cookies--so simple and so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I rolled these and also used the release foil they were PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This recipe is awesome. I would strongly recommend chilling the mixture in the fridge for about an hour or so and rolling into balls in your hands..kind of messy but worth it. (I put the bowl back in the fridge while I waited for each batch to bake in the oven. Also don't make the balls too big then you will need to cook them longer and they will be mushy instead of chewy.) Flatten the balls a little on your cookie sheet lined with some Non-stick/Easy Release Reynolds Foil. When you take them out of the oven let them cool for a few minutes before you try to remove them to a cooling rack, they just pop right off the foil, didn't even need a spachula. Very easy to make and taste great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I'm glad I read the reviews about chilling the mixture. I omitted the flavoring extracts, and instead added about 1/3 C Irish Cream, and three well beaten egg whites (to offset the added moisture). Tasty! I also dipped some in melted chocolate. Excellent co-worker treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States