Coconut Macaroons II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I consider myself to be a good cook and have made many recipes from this site. However, these came out HORRIBLE. I made them for Passover to take to my in-laws, and now I have to throw them in the garbage and buy some from the store instead. First of all, they don't taste like the traditional macaroons everyone expects to have on Passover. Secondly, I had to increase the time by about 12 minutes to get them the proper color, but doing so caused the bottoms to stick to the foil and become a complete waste of time and money. Never again will I make these awful excuses for macaroons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This wasn't quite what I was expecting. The flavor is a little off for macaroons, tasting slightly of caramel and coconuts. What's more the texture was way too chewy. With some melted dark chocolate and a little caramel topping, they do resemble Girl Scout Samoas, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Thanks so much Robin! I made the cookies just as the recipe directs, except I did take the advice of other reviewers and chilled the dough, and I lowered the baking temp to 325 and baked them longer. I pushed a Dove chocolate candy into the top of each right from the oven, let it melt then swirled it for a chocolate topping . My in-laws are big coconut fans--they joked that after almost 30 years together that fighting over these cookies is the only thing that has made them consider a divorce! I also put the baked cookies under a low broiler for a few minutes (under close watch) to get them nice and crispy on top. My father-in-law is a paver and I told him that if he could mix cement he could make these cookies--so simple and so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I rolled these and also used the release foil they were PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This recipe is awesome. I would strongly recommend chilling the mixture in the fridge for about an hour or so and rolling into balls in your hands..kind of messy but worth it. (I put the bowl back in the fridge while I waited for each batch to bake in the oven. Also don't make the balls too big then you will need to cook them longer and they will be mushy instead of chewy.) Flatten the balls a little on your cookie sheet lined with some Non-stick/Easy Release Reynolds Foil. When you take them out of the oven let them cool for a few minutes before you try to remove them to a cooling rack, they just pop right off the foil, didn't even need a spachula. Very easy to make and taste great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I'm glad I read the reviews about chilling the mixture. I omitted the flavoring extracts, and instead added about 1/3 C Irish Cream, and three well beaten egg whites (to offset the added moisture). Tasty! I also dipped some in melted chocolate. Excellent co-worker treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
The taste of this recipe is great! The only problem I had was it stuck to the pan. I did take the advice of another person to refrigerate mixture and this helped to prevent it from spreading to thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I gave this a "2-star" not for taste (they're delicious!), but for lack of instructions. The recipe as it's written sounds super simple.............but if you follow it exactly, without first reading several prior reviews, you'll have a sticky mess, with macaroons that fall apart and are really difficult to remove "right out of the oven" as the original recipe states. I ended up, after the first batch, actually using my hands to roll into balls, pressing the mixture so it would hold together. Simply "dropping by teaspoonfuls" as instructed, doesn't give enough body to keep the macaroons together. I also had to keep putting the macaroons back in the oven to cook more than 10 minutes. If I use this recipe again, I'll know how to do it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Easy recipe, although I found that refrigerating the mixture for a couple of hours, then rolling into balls, and flattening them a little helped them to stay together. Also, I used Reynolds' Release Nonstick foil which worked wonderfully to keep them from sticking to the foil. I also upped the temp to 375 degrees after testing a first batch at 350 for 10 minutes (not crispy enough for me). Ten to twelve minutes seemed to be the right amount of time. I also immediately removed the cookies from the foil-lined sheet onto another sheet of Release Nonstick foil, which made for easy removal when cool. Very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States