Coconut Macaroons II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
The worst recipe I ever made. Did exactly as the recipe called for but ended up with a gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Easy, Simple and Delicious! I was a little scared at first mixing the whole can of sweetened/condensed milk in, it seemed like it was so much! But after baking and cooling, they turned out perfect and delicious the whole family loved them. And it was so quick and easy! I have to say (it could be my oven) that it took ALOT longer in the oven than the noted 8-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELWINGS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
With more instructions, this recipe is great. Chill the batter. Use your hands to form balls and squeeze the daylights out of them to make them firm. And to avoid excess sweetness, use unsweetened coconut. I like Bob's Red Mill Unsweetened Flaked Coconut. There are exactly 5.5 cups of coconut in the package, so it works perfectly with a 14 oz. can of sweetened evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I took most of the suggestions, e.g., packing the coconut, refrigerating the batter, rolling into balls, using parchment paper, which said no greasing necessary, and the cookies held together well. I used more than a teaspoon for each cookie, so only got 30 cookies. I baked in two batches. The first I baked for 10 minutes, the second batch for around 13 or 14 minutes. The second batch came out looking and tasting better and didn't stick to the paper at all. Hopefully they'll taste better tomorrow, but cooled out of the oven for about an hour, they are rather gooey and taste extremely salty for some reason. I used 2-1/2 tsps. of vanilla extract and 1 tsp. of almond extract. I melted some milk chocolate chips and spread some on the second batch. Haven't tasted them with the chocolate yet. Waiting till tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I've never been very successful with this recipe. The ones that don't stick to the foil and that get cooked to a firm state are really good, but there are far too few of those compared to the burned bottoms and uncooked middles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Congrats to all of you who got these to work, but for me this was the worst recipe I've whipped up in a long time. The ingredient list practically defies logic anyways. I followed the recipe and all tips provided in the reviews and what I ended up with was a giant mass of burned sugar & coconut. The stuff actually burned to parchment paper. I finally saved the rest of the mix by adding ab out 1/2 cup of flour or so. Edible but certainly not great. The coconut/sweetened condensed milk/extracts mixtures is great in the raw form...it just doesn't turn into macaroons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
So simple to make and a huge hit with the whole family! We drizzled melted chocolate chips over the top for an extra special touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
The macaroons came out great! I followed the suggestions of chilling the mixture before baking. I threw it in the fridge overnight and baked them in the morning. I didn't use the easy release foil, instead I greased the sheet generously. The suggestion of leaving the macaroons on the pan for two minutes does help in removing them. After removing them, I placed the macaroons on a lined a sheet with wax paper and threw them in the fridge (it holds its shape better). I kept everything in the recipe the same except for the amount of coconut: I used three bags of the bakers brand flaked coconut. The batch made about 80 macaroons. I was skeptical at first, but everyone who tasted it, loved it...it's especially great if you dip them in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I've found the PERFECT combination for this recipe. I use 2 (14 oz) bags of Baker's brand coconut then the sweetened condensed milk and the extracts. I chill my mixture for two hours so it's easier to work with. I roll a teaspoon of the mixture between my palms lightly to form a ball and drop on the cookie sheets. I bake them for 12 min at 325 degrees. They're easier to remove from the tray if you let them set-up on the tray for 2 min. after removing from the oven. I allow them to cool on wax paper, then dip the bottoms in melted semi-sweet chocolate and put on a wax paper lined cookie sheet in the frige. They are incredible and look so pretty with my holiday cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
These taste good, but don't hold together at all.Also stuck to the pan despite using Pam.I am still looking for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELLA43512

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States