Coconut Macaroons II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Amazing! I had to try this recipe because of how simple it was and the results blew me away. I followed some of the other recommendations in the reviews and had no problems making the cookies. I even had someone who hates coconut go back for seconds on these. Thank you for the wonderful recipe which is now part of my favorites collection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Good, easy recipe. I made these for Passover this year. I found that the smaller I made the macaroons and the more tightly I pressed them into a ball, the better they held up in the oven and after. I followed other comments here and refrigerated the mix first and reduced the heat to 325 and cooked them longer. Also, I could only find sweetened coconut at my grocery store. I toasted this coconut beforehand, which I think helped reduce some of the sweetness in the final cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I made this for Passover this year. The cookies were a huge hit with everyone other than myself. I found them way too sweet- but looking at the recipe, I kind of knew they would be. Everyone else adored them! As suggested, I baked them on parchment paper. After allowing them to cool for a few minutes, they just popped off, easy as pie (or macaroons).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I had 3 problems with this recipe since I've only had store bought ones I'm not sure if my results were normal. 1. too sweet for my tastes, since all the sugar is the condensed milk, I'd have to cut it with regular milk and I'm not sure how that would effect the consistency. 2. I found the almond/vanilla extract over powered the taste of the coconut. 3. The center was under cooked, but this was partly my fault because I made the cookies too big. Needless to say it's tricky to fully bake them without burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made these cookies for Christmas. They were a hit with the whole family. One thing I tried cooking them on the foil and they stuck badly, the next batch I just greased the cookie sheet and they were great and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
these are super easy and yummy! I found no need for flour or any other alterations. Each batch produced rounded mounds of gooey coconut. I used silpats on my cookie sheets and removing the macaroons was effortless! A little melted chocolate really rounded these out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
They came out perfect. I used unsweetened coconut and 1/4c. measuring cup to mold them, so they were huge, but nice and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I don't really like coconut... at all. I'd never had a coconut macaroon either so I had no idea what they should taste like. My husband loves them and bought one from a high-end bakery that he said was horrible. I was happy to see how easy this recipe was! He did most of the work himself and they still turned out great ;) I like that they're ooey gooey moist on the inside and just a little bit crisp on the outside. Our first batch is already gone. His co-workers are asking him for the recipe now. We're planning on making more for Christmas, this time with chocolate and sliced almonds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
What a wonderful treat! We had a small dinner party and everyone kept saying "okay, one more please!" When you put the mixture in the fridge it makes forming the balls easier. Thank you for a tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
These were okay. Flavor wasn't bad and they were very easy to make, but I wasn't wowed by them. These definitely do need to get removed from the pan immediately as they will begin sticking. Contrary to everyone else's experience about having better results if they refrigerated before baking, I actually had a worse result. I made a batch and immediately baked, and they held their form fine. I refrigerated the next batch for about 20 minutes, and these ones fell apart when I tried to remove them from the pan, and I even baked them an extra 2 minutes. I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States