Coconut Macaroons German Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Another way to bake them so thatthey stay soft and fluffy is to set the oven to 350 F and only bake the cookies for 5-6 minutes until they are slightly golden. They will still be a little bit sticky but that's ok They will loose their stickiness when they cool down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe is excellent as is. Baking it at 350 for less time until golden resulted in sticky cookies that really couldn't be eaten while keeping your fingers clean. I put them in for 12 more minutes on 250, and they turned out great. Macaroons are supposed to be crunchy, anyways. The almond extract adds an excellent flavor, and the cinnamon doesn't distract from the coconut taste at all. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Made these since I had lots of leftover coconut from Coconut Cream Pie. I almost forgot about the toasted ones and was wondering why it wasn't a bit more.. thick. But that was my own fault. I'm working on a batch now, with one done and cooled. These are really, really good. Entire family likes them, even my brother who hates coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Hersey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I was first scared to be the first one tried this recipe, but let me tell you it is so good, I did not toast the coconut as the recipe says, and did not add the cinnamon, so good,thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
These are so good. I made them to use up 4 egg whites I had sitting in the fridge. Something went wrong, and they never really worked as a meringue, so I threw them out and started over with fresh ones. This recipe came together perfectly the second time. It was beautiful. I used unsweetened coconut, which was a wise choice. It would have been way too swee otherwise. I love the flavors of cinnamon and almond in here. The outside texture is a crisp meringue shell almost, and the inside is a chewy coconut macaroon. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
We really like these. My Celiac daughter loved having a yummy treat at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I love this recipe! It is so easy and quick. I have a spritz recipe that calls for 3 egg yolks. No unused egg yolks. Next time I won't toast the coconut quite as much. I used Almond flavoring. The coconut lovers in my family love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
We had these at a German bakery and loved them, this recipe is very close to the bakery recipe. I made these for Christmas and everyone loved them. Very easy to make and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is a great cookie! I live in high altitude and it's raining outside and they still came out perfect. I let my mixer do all the work and they are light, crispy and chewy on the inside. Great flavor too! I'm bringing them to a german themed potluck and I think they will be a success. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I do not typically like Macaroons, but I am giving this recipe 5 stars because these were the best Macaroons I have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly with one exception. I reduced the amount of almond extract because I do not care for the flavor. My husband still loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States